Multiple renders, etc - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 20th, 2011, 02:19 AM   #16
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,104
Re: Multiple renders, etc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leslie Wand View Post
you can render transparency to a codec that has an alpha channel: mov, huffyuv, and others.

big files usually

wait a minute.... you rendered c'key WITHOUT a background!? what we're you expecting to see? a transparency grid like photoshop?
I was hoping to render the transparency so I could be done with the chromakeying - along with the colour correction - and insert an image later - and so I could stop my system being slowed down by all these FXs...

I would prefer not to have to choose my image at this stage.
Renton Maclachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2011, 04:26 AM   #17
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Multiple renders, etc

ah, i see......

use an alpha channel codec - and expect very large file size.

i've never gone this route - it seems like a more work and pain than just getting it set up on the tl and working with it there.....

what is your system?

if it's bad with what you're doing i don't think (i might be wrong!) that it would be in any way better with an uncompressed alpha codec and bkgrd, etc.,

ymmv
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is online now   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2011, 04:37 AM   #18
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,104
Re: Multiple renders, etc

Thanks Leslie. Perhaps I will just have to render out the colour correction and do the CK later. Or perhaps I need to do my thinking about background images sooner rather than later...
Renton Maclachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2011, 05:45 AM   #19
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,104
Re: Multiple renders, etc

If I go to 'Render as' then 'Custom', a dialogue box opens withdown the bottom 'Render alpha channel (uncompressed video formats only). Above that about in the middle of the dialogue box is a drop down box headed 'Video format'. I have had 'PAL DV Widescreen'.

However if in that box after pulling down the drop down panel, I put 'uncompressed', then the 'Render Alpha Channel' tick box becomes live.

Only the 'Frame size' drop down box turns to 'PAL DV/Std (730x 576)' though the 'Pixel Aspect ratio stays 1.4568.

Would this do the trick?
Renton Maclachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2011, 07:26 AM   #20
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Multiple renders, etc

sorry really don't know - it's not, asd i mentioned, a route i have ever thought about.

my only experience of alpha channel has been pretty much restricted to graphics and animation - usually in the form of png or tga sequences.
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is online now   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2011, 08:45 AM   #21
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Multiple renders, etc

Yes you can render out the transparency. And when you bring it back in, you can then put it over other footage which will appear in the transparent area. After adding back to the timeline, you may need to right-click it, choose "Properties", go to the "Media" tab, and then change the alpha channel mode.

While extremely huge, rendering out to uncompressed AVI will work. Just open the "Custom" settings and make sure transparency is turned ON. A PNG sequence should work fine as PNGs will save out transparency. I know some Quicktime formats will also do this. If the area is small enough, I'd just try uncompressed AVI.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2011, 03:01 PM   #22
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,104
Re: Multiple renders, etc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
Yes you can render out the transparency. And when you bring it back in, you can then put it over other footage which will appear in the transparent area. After adding back to the timeline, you may need to right-click it, choose "Properties", go to the "Media" tab, and then change the alpha channel mode.

While extremely huge, rendering out to uncompressed AVI will work. Just open the "Custom" settings and make sure transparency is turned ON. A PNG sequence should work fine as PNGs will save out transparency. I know some Quicktime formats will also do this. If the area is small enough, I'd just try uncompressed AVI.
Thanks Edward. When you say, 'uncompressed avi is huge', what do you mean? I thought that I was already dealing with uncompressed avi!

If I'm not, what sort of size difference in files could be expected?

Leslie: I'm going to be dealing later on with graphics with an alpha channel being brought in from Adobe Illustrator through Photoshop. So far I've only done a very minimal playing around with that aspect of the job - only to confirm that it can be done - and to check out the fact that Photoshop layers can be brought into Vegas, which is really neat. I'm not aware that Illustrator files can be brought into Vegas so I need that other step through Photoshop...
Renton Maclachlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2011, 07:31 AM   #23
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Multiple renders, etc

DV is NOT uncompressed. DV will get you about 13Gig / hour. Uncompressed will be closer to 60-65Gig / hour - MUCH larger.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2011, 02:24 PM   #24
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,104
Re: Multiple renders, etc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
DV is NOT uncompressed. DV will get you about 13Gig / hour. Uncompressed will be closer to 60-65Gig / hour - MUCH larger.
hmmm...that rules that out...thanks
Renton Maclachlan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:55 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network