Missing 1 frame (kinda urgent!!) - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 25th, 2011, 11:30 AM   #16
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Missing 1 frame (kinda urgent!!)

Without understanding exactly what you are doing, why don't you just give him the ORIGINAL files to colorize. Then you could just replace media with the new files in the Project Media and everything would be updated. Because you've given him the original files, ALL the frames would be there!
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2011, 12:44 PM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 211
Re: Missing 1 frame (kinda urgent!!)

I see how could this be a great solution for other projects. The problem is the shoot was done on partly cloudy days. So for instance if I take the master shot (which was set with the singer sitting by a tree in a field) the light varies all the way through to the end. So which part should my colorist do?

Yes I could write down timecode or have my computer beside but this all seem too time consuming, I am paying by the hour and he is not cheap!!!

Besides, he has to render it out anyway so in the end won't I end up without the original anyway?

What you propose, is that what you do when you have to deal with the same kind of situation?
Phil Gosselin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2011, 12:59 PM   #18
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Missing 1 frame (kinda urgent!!)

I've never dealt with that situation. I've always done my own color corrections in Vegas (which does a great job, btw). I've also never had to give my footage to someone who works on a Mac. I have a Mac here and have tried moving some footage to it and was frustrated that most formats would not work!
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2011, 01:21 PM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 211
Re: Missing 1 frame (kinda urgent!!)

I also do color correction in Vegas but whatever I could've done is a million years away compare to what my colorist has done. First he has an amazing eye for color and second, he accomplished in 5 hours what would have taken me days to do, even then I wouldn't have come to the same results, I mean not even remotely close to it, he really is worth every penny.

It was the first time I was able to take a look at Apple Colors and I gotta say I am impressed. That is the kind of CC tools Vegas need. I was so hoping for advanced CC tools for Vegas 10 but alas Sony went the 3D route instead, which for my money and my needs, is utterly useless. Hopefully that's what they have in store for version 11.

Thanks for all the help Edward!

Phil
Phil Gosselin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2011, 06:56 PM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 40
Re: Missing 1 frame (kinda urgent!!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Gosselin View Post
Ok so I tried stretching all clip, unfortunately this brings motion blur on top of motion blur which is not acceptable.
Try selecting "Disable Resampling" in the event properties?
Jeremy Dallek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2011, 11:25 PM   #21
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Re: Missing 1 frame (kinda urgent!!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Gosselin View Post
Ok so I tried stretching all clip, unfortunately this brings motion blur on top of motion blur which is not acceptable.
Since you miss just the last frame in each clip, have you considered just repeating the last frame in each of the shortened clips? Or perhaps copying the missing frame from the originals? Or a blend of both? Or just cutting out the last few frames from each clip and replacing them with something entirely different but of the proper length? Perhaps the view of the audience, or of something relating to the music?
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2011, 12:04 PM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 211
Re: Missing 1 frame (kinda urgent!!)

Well what I ended up doing was adding 5 frames at the beginning and end of each clip. My colorist re-applied his corrections and re-exported the whole thing in QT Animation.

The last frame was still missing (so it wasn't a case of a bad render the first time around) but this time I could trim it back to the way it was. Sure it was a bit of a hassle but the end result is more than satisfactory.

Thanks all!
Phil Gosselin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2011, 02:56 PM   #23
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Re: Missing 1 frame (kinda urgent!!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Gosselin View Post
Thanks all!
You’re quite welcome. And congratulation on solving the problem.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:47 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network