Timeline leaves gap or forces cross fade at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 27th, 2011, 01:54 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West Orange, NJ, U.S.
Posts: 163
Timeline leaves gap or forces cross fade

Hi everyone,

Here's something that's been bothering me for a while. It's never been a real issue and I can work around it, so it's really more about satisfying my curiosity. It seems that lately my video pieces on the timeline end up with tiny gaps between them (see first jpeg) even after I've put them together with "Snap" enabled. They'll start off right against each other but then they'll end up with tiny gaps once I start moving stuff arounf - and still with automatic snapping enabled. If I try to get them closer they crossfade. There doesn't seem to be an in-between and the gap isn't even a frames worth. But if not caught, my rendered video has a superquick black "flash" because of a gap I didn't catch.

Like I said, it's not usually an issue and more often than not I catch the gap. Where it does create problems is when a clip has a fade out on it, and then the following clip has a fade in. If I butt them up against each other the fades are automatically removed because now the two clips are overlapping (as in second jpeg). The solution is to just zoom into the timeline and get the clips as close as possible without causing an overlap.

Am I explaining this in a way that makes sense? And ideas on what may be causing this?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Timeline leaves gap or forces cross fade-gap.jpg   Timeline leaves gap or forces cross fade-no-gap.jpg  

Mike Hammond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2011, 02:22 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Timeline leaves gap or forces cross fade

It's because your event on the left did NOT end on a frame boundary. Shorten it to end on a frame boundary and all will be fine.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2011, 02:51 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Re: Timeline leaves gap or forces cross fade

Make sure "Quantize to Frames" is enabled.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2011, 03:30 PM   #4
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
Re: Timeline leaves gap or forces cross fade

This happens (most often) when your footage frame rate does not match your timeline frame rate. Check the tiny, down-pointing black arrows in your clips -- these are indicators of frame boundaries. You'll most likely see that they don't all line up with timeline frame lines.

It can also happen if, as Mike says above, you don't have "Quantize to frames" enabled.
David Jimerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 10:08 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Timeline leaves gap or forces cross fade

It can happen with Quantize to Frames turned on. I've, many times, seen a video clip not be exact frames long. If you just grab then end, resize it a frame smaller and then bring it back, it will then stop at the frame boundary. In this case, it looks like it's going 17 1/2 frames past the second mark. Pull it back to 17 frames and all will work fine.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 11:36 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Re: Timeline leaves gap or forces cross fade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
It can happen with Quantize to Frames turned on.
You are correct Edward.
It's happened to me a few times and using your method has always saved the day as I never work with QTF mode turned off.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 03:18 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West Orange, NJ, U.S.
Posts: 163
Re: Timeline leaves gap or forces cross fade

Thanks for the replies guys. Definitely an issue with frame rate not matching project properties. All fixed!
Mike Hammond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 10:42 PM   #8
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
Re: Timeline leaves gap or forces cross fade

Yeah, it definitely can happen with QTF turned on, when the clip frame rate doesn't (exactly!) match the timeline. Just saying, when it's turned off, wild stuff can happen.

One thing especially to watch for is correcting for this when you have ripple edits enabled. If you correct a clip with ripple on, all the ripple-affected clips will then be displaced by the amount of the error -- as in, if the clip you correct is 13 frames past the frame line, and then you correct it with ripple on, all rippled clips will become 13 frames off.
David Jimerson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:06 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network