is this computer fast enough for Vegas 10? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 1st, 2011, 07:45 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London
Posts: 410
is this computer fast enough for Vegas 10?

Sony VAIO VPCF11Z1E/BI specifications. Get the full spec from TechRadar UK

I have it now for a bit more than a year, but regardless of the 8GB of RAM, if it still somewhat slow in previewing and rendering...

also, can someone explain me why a lot of times Vegas will switch the preview to "half" from full, even if I haven't set it to auto?
Federico Perale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2011, 09:30 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 8,222
Re: is this computer fast enough for Vegas 10?

I assume you are trying to edit AVCHD???? Even with my i7 2600, if I shoot at 21 mbps the preview will switch to half res the moment it hits a transition or a new timeline (like overlayed footage) If you are shooting 720 then it is a problem!! as half res ends up as 640x360 video on a 1440 monitor and looks terrible...with 1920x1080 half res still looks pretty good!!! That machine only seems to have a 1.6GHz processor so it will fail miserably on AVCHD

Bottom line is that you need a really powerful machine if you are shooting anything above 17 mbps and want full resolution all the time...otherwise upgrade to Vegas 11 and put an awesome video card in the machine!!! but that can be as costly as a new computer!!

Chris
Chris Harding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2011, 10:05 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London
Posts: 410
Re: is this computer fast enough for Vegas 10?

yes I am mainly shooting AVCHD 1080 25p 24Mbps
Federico Perale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2011, 10:21 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 149
Re: is this computer fast enough for Vegas 10?

I have a Dell Studio with the 720QM and it handles AVCHD with no problems editing with Vegas 10 as well as the new 11...I do multicam edits from my NX5U, AX2000, Canon HG21,Canon HG10...The laptop does it quite nicely...So I see no issues with the VAIO...
Here are my laptop Specs....

Dell Studio 17
Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate
Sony Vegas 11pro
i7 720QM 1.60 Ghz
8Gig DDR3 1333
ATI 4650 1Gig Video
1-120Gig SSD Mushkin
1-500Gig WD 7200 HD
1-DVD Burner
David Wayne Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2011, 01:19 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London
Posts: 410
Re: is this computer fast enough for Vegas 10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Wayne Groves View Post

Dell Studio 17
Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate
Sony Vegas 11pro
i7 720QM 1.60 Ghz
8Gig DDR3 1333
ATI 4650 1Gig Video
1-120Gig SSD Mushkin
1-500Gig WD 7200 HD
1-DVD Burner
and here mine - very very similar indeed (but I use Vegas pro 10 - 32 bit - is working with Vegas 64 bit faster?). how do you normally handle previews? how do you set them?
also what values do you put RAM allocation to for previews? I guess I am trying to understand if I can tweak my laptop to be more video editing friendly...

raphics Controller Manufacturer NVIDIA
Graphics Controller Model GeForce GT 330M
Operating System Architecture 64-bit
Processor Model i7-720QM
Operating System Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium
Processor Speed 1.60 GHz
Processor Type Core i7
Standard Memory 8 GB
Memory Standard DDR3-1333/PC3-10666
Graphics Memory Capacity 1 GB
Federico Perale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2011, 07:55 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Charleston WV
Posts: 149
Re: is this computer fast enough for Vegas 10?

I don't change any RAM allocations and the only changes I make is if I use all 4 cams in the timeline on a multicam shoot, I will then convert them in Neo which helps on the laptop...everything else just runs and edits smoothly without any need to convert...as for running 64 bit over 32 I really don't see that much difference other than the RAM being used better in 64bit... of course I always use 64bit regardless keeping the 32 bit for certain software thats not 64bit complient in vegas,,,My basic edits are color correction enhancements using Vegas, Neo first light, as well as New Blue plugins, I do cuts and fades as well as Titles and credits.....
I still use my i7core 920 desktop as my main editing tool but I still tweek the project on the go with my laptop ...
David Wayne Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2011, 09:11 PM   #7
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
Re: is this computer fast enough for Vegas 10?

I have an i7 960 and I edit 24Mb full-raster 1080, full-screen, with no problem. Not sure why an i7 2600 would have hiccups -- unless it has to do with that initial chipset issue . . .
David Jimerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2011, 12:31 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: is this computer fast enough for Vegas 10?

Federico, you must change the setting "adjust size for optimal quality playback" to stop the going back and forth in preview quality. Auto setting has nothing to do with the problem you're experiencing.

Right click in the blank area near but not on the preview window and you'll see the setting, uncheck it.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2011, 07:17 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
Re: is this computer fast enough for Vegas 10?

You shouldn't really be having problems with your PC, your i7 is an earlier version, but should be up to the job. I use an Acer laptop, straight out of the box, apart from upgrading to 8gb of Crucial ram. AVCHD, 3 cam multi edits, colour correction etc, etc, all play back in real time. I cant, of course take advantage of the GPU Mercury playback engine when using premiere CS5.5, but rendering is fast enough for me. The machines specs are.
i5 2410M 2.3 Ghz Sandybridge processor
8 gb Crucial ram
Intel 3000 graphics
external USB2 HDDs
Cost me 420 including the ram. It was purchased initially for use as an internet machine, I loaded CS5.5 and Vegas 11 on it and have not looked back, cheapest edit machine I have ever purchased.
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2011, 07:23 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London
Posts: 410
Re: is this computer fast enough for Vegas 10?

I run the 32 bit version, but I find that as soon as I start editing and colour correcting the playback becomes really slow...
I wonder if I should do a complete reinstall as it seems to be it's a bit strage

it's still a powerful machine
Federico Perale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2011, 08:10 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
Re: is this computer fast enough for Vegas 10?

The 32 bit version of Vegas will only address 2gb of ram. The 64 bit version will address up to 8gb of ram.
Hope this helps
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2011, 09:17 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London
Posts: 410
Re: is this computer fast enough for Vegas 10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin Rowe View Post
The 32 bit version of Vegas will only address 2gb of ram. The 64 bit version will address up to 8gb of ram.
Hope this helps
that's quite a revelation. so essentially, by using 32 bit, I am leaving 6GB unexploited out of my 8GB of RAM (hence using only 25% of my ram)? that alone seems to justify using the 64 bit version
Federico Perale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2011, 01:01 PM   #13
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: is this computer fast enough for Vegas 10?

Federico, the operating system can access the remainder of the RAM even if Vegas doesn't use it.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network