corrupted project at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 5th, 2011, 10:00 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 37
corrupted project

Get the message that the project file is most likely corrupted or of an unkown fromat.

Are there known remedies (the .bak yields the same the message, the program apparently overwrites the previous bak when opening the project ???) or is this a case of un-install and use something else?
Frans Meijer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2011, 10:51 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 558
Re: corrupted project

Does the file open? Do other projects work normally?

Try googling your exact error message. Also check for any patches for the software. Check your hdd for errors.

JS
John Stakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2011, 02:11 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: corrupted project

Try Saving As to another location, and then see what happens.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2011, 03:03 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 37
Re: corrupted project

Good question.
1) Other projects do open normally.
2) The project doesn't open at all, so I don't think I can save as

Right now, changing folders will not pop up the message to search for missing files, but I am pretty sure when I tried to open it for the first time this afternoon it did spend some time opening files before giving the message. When I make the media files unavailable it will pop up the message right away
Frans Meijer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2011, 05:16 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: corrupted project

Of course you can't save as if it won't open, don't know what I was thinking!
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2011, 06:12 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 37
Re: corrupted project

Well, trid to move/rename it but that didn't do anything. Seems it's in the projectfile, rather then the media, though I'd like to clean up any cached data, just to make sure that's not the problem. Any idea where I can find those?

And maybe open it from Admin account, who knows maybe there's a problem with user-rights
Frans Meijer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2011, 06:18 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: corrupted project

Have you run diskcheck yet? It's a long shot, but as Johns suggests I would try that anyway. Possible it could be the source of the problem. So if it does not fix it, it's very good to run anyway. You know how, right?
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2011, 07:30 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Reston, VA
Posts: 8
Re: corrupted project

If you have spinite I might even try that...it's been known to rescue data. I would also back up the media before you do anything so at worst case at least you wont lose that.
Wendy Sarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2011, 07:26 AM   #9
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: corrupted project

Won't help today but for the future you could use my Auto Save custom command which will save a date/time stamped version every x minutes. Then you would have had a backup from "x" minutes ago you could have opened and continued on. Auto Save installs when you install Excalibur but is free to use and will continue working even after Excalibur expires.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2011, 07:47 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 37
Re: corrupted project

That's all-right, thank you. Neat idea to put in a plugin but I guess I can make a script. I never expected Vegas to fail me, I am used to a crash-less experience with it. Ah well, lesson learned.
Frans Meijer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network