Cineform and Vegas today at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 11th, 2012, 05:54 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Grosse pointe, michigan
Posts: 189
Cineform and Vegas today

Disclosure: I have nothing to do with the GoPro/ Cineform company and was ready to abandon them for use in Vegas 11.
BUT the new Cineform Studio is a perfect mate for Vegas. Mr. Newman worked with Sony to get every thing working. Yesterday I spent 8 hours editing without a crash or any hick up for that matter.
The new ingest module took my hacked (really big GH2 files) and rendered them to the CF format very well and the edit mode provided a true WYSIWYG interface with Vegas (ver11 64bit). The edit module allowed realtime correction updating to even my subclips.
I own Neo so I hope I don't have to pay more for the new version.
I really recommend that all vegas users give it a try (see the CF secton below for free trial)
I have never publicly endorsed anything in my life before now. You really owe it to yourselves to give this thing a spin.
Clip with moderate Studio corrections:
(try at 1080 full) (yea I recorded sound seperately just haven't put it in and synced yet)
Roy Feldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2012, 06:34 AM   #2
Inner Circle
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,416
Re: Cineform and Vegas today

Roy, thanks for the info. I've been using HDLink for awhile and it's very useful, if you need it.

It's important to note many if not most people do not need Cineform. I only use it to convert mixed footage most of the time.

Every day I usually have a 4 camera hd project in process, and while Cineform files are easier to edit, I don't bother converting, it's not worth the hassle most of the time.

When I do use it, it is extremely useful, but rarely do I need it anymore. One video takes up 750GB after converted, and that is too much most of the time.

Glad to hear the new product is so good!
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2012, 05:44 PM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KLD, South Africa
Posts: 983
Re: Cineform and Vegas today

I use to convert everything in the past but had so many problems I stopped converting to Cineform and surprisingly everything worked great since however I do render my master output to Cineform for archiving & transcoding. Bought a brand new Intel i7-2600, 16Gb Ram upgrade today but haven't had the time to install yet, will give Cineform another try on my new system next week sometime. (Neo owner).
Nicholas de Kock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2012, 06:01 PM   #4
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,315
Re: Cineform and Vegas today

as and when i have to transcode 'awkward' footage i usually do so to mxf. never had a problem and vegas seems to love it.
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:36 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network