DVDA and W.7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 29th, 2012, 02:02 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 325
DVDA and W.7

Is DVDA -5 compatible with W.7.? I've had it on XP pro for a while and it works perfectly, Since installing W.7 and re-installing DVDA-5 onto it. everything has gone haywire.
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2012, 11:43 PM   #2
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
Re: DVDA and W.7

Uninstall and reinstall. There should be no problems.
David Jimerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 02:57 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Re: DVDA and W.7

Describe 'haywire'.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 05:37 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: DVDA and W.7

working fine here....
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 06:52 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 325
Re: DVDA and W.7

IAN. My problem is that DVDA is working perfectly with W.7 when making DVD's. But when trying to make Blu-ray discs. It won't recognise any blank disc except for Verbatim BD-R/BD-RW. with XP I could burn HD to STD.DVD discs. Also when trying to burn a second HD disc when invited to do so. It freezes when it comes to burning lead in. Sometimes a message says DVDA has stopped working and report. The only way I can make a copy is to start from scratch again. However on reflection I think it might be lack of memory since I have left XP on another drive and with W.7 I am using XP mode so I can use Adobe pro version which won't work with W.7. The only reason I want to use Adobe Pro 2 is because I can stop at any point on a scolling title which I can't do on VMS10 platinum . I then transfer the title to Vegas. That's how I did it when I just had XP on the PC and everything worked well. I am going to install more memory and see what happens.
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 08:15 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Re: DVDA and W.7

I would never burn a disc from DVDA, especially not an expensive Blu-ray Disc. Always burn to ISO, then burn the ISO to the disc with ImgBurn, and do so as many times as you want.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 08:26 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 211
Re: DVDA and W.7

I'll second that,

For years my workflow was to create the DVD/BD in DVDA and then burn them using ImgBurn...using nothing but Verbatim discs.

So far this workflow has been spotless.
Phil Gosselin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 08:54 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 325
Re: DVDA and W.7

You all give sound advice. I have got IMGBURN installed but can't understand it's settings. I've had three coasters one after another. I wish I could work with it because I've heard such good reports about it. I've asked how to use it step by step, that's the only way I can take it in, but everyone who answers thinks I know as much about PC's as they do. Sadly I don't. I buy DVD tutorials on all programmes I want to use and I get by. Unfortunately I can't find any such tutorials for IMGBURN. The programmes helpline goes above my head.
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 12:32 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Re: DVDA and W.7

Well, Roy, then you need to ask very specific questions at each step you do not understand.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 12:52 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 211
Re: DVDA and W.7

ImgBurn has comprehensive tutorials available on their website You can find them here:

Guides - ImgBurn Support Forum
Phil Gosselin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 01:36 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 325
Re: DVDA and W.7

I've just tried to burn another DVD from ingburn. First I printed out instructions from YOUTUbe tutorial. As far as I can tell I followed these instructions to the letter. I wanted to make a disc from files and so clicked onto that panel at the start. Result. The disc played back on the PC from the rewriter and wouldn't play on any standalone player. It just displayed the word data and nothing else. As far as I could tell on the imgburn log the disc had been verified. This is my 4th attempt and probally my last. Trouble is nobody near me uses Vegas or IMGBURN.
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 05:17 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,866
Re: DVDA and W.7

Make sure UDF 2.5 is selected.
Tom Roper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 06:23 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 325
Re: DVDA and W.7

TOM. Thanks for info. But where do I select UDF 2.5 Incidently can anyone tell me why when I have clicked to get instant notification of replies. I DON'T
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 06:39 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rhinelander, WI
Posts: 1,209
Re: DVDA and W.7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy Alexander View Post
But where do I select UDF 2.5
Options / File System and Options / UDF Revision.
Adam Stanislav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2012, 10:03 PM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Re: DVDA and W.7

Off on a tangent: It's interesting that only one brand of BD-R is working for you. Have other brands ever worked with any software on this PC/OS build?

Are you sure that your burner firmware is the current, latest version? To check this, you'd refer to instructions at the burner manufacturer's website. It is quite possible that other brands aren't working because your burner firmware & driver don't recognize them.
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network