stupid question about rendering to 1440*1080 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 26th, 2012, 12:01 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London
Posts: 410
stupid question about rendering to 1440*1080

I am working on canon hfg10 files at 7Mbps which are 1440*1080

now, I have to edit and upload to web, and I thought I would just keep the original resolution until the end, but If I do so, using the usual procedure of umcompressed intermediate (quicktime) and then use handbrake set at 1440*1080, the actual clip will show with black bands, and not full screen

is it advisable to render to 1920*1080 even when starting from 1440*1080?
Federico Perale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2012, 12:39 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 553
Re: stupid question about rendering to 1440*1080

Quote:
Originally Posted by Federico Perale View Post
the actual clip will show with black bands, and not full screen
Some programs always interpret Quicktime as progressive with a 1:1 pixel aspect ratio. I would suggest keeping your video 1440x1080 but trying a different intermediate format.
Eric Olson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2012, 12:42 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: stupid question about rendering to 1440*1080

See if there is an option somewhere for "Allow Non-Square Pixels".

That will take care of the incorrect aspect ratio problem.
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2012, 03:49 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Re: stupid question about rendering to 1440*1080

In handbrake, you need to select "anamorphic | none" to get full access to the pixel dimensions you might want. In the PC version of HB, this setting is found on the "picture" tab.

Coming out of handbrake, you absolutely want square pixels for internet distribution. Online services and embedded players are all over the map in their ability to correctly interpret flags for non-square pixel aspect ratios, there seems to be no uniformity across codecs for this flagging. For HDV-originated material at 1440x1080, the most common distribution is 1280x720 with PAR=1, or 1920x1080 PAR=1.
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2012, 09:50 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London
Posts: 410
Re: stupid question about rendering to 1440*1080

thanks to everyone for the replies!!

Can I also ask about rendering times? I have been following the method outlined in that famous clip (
)
, and rendering to uncompressed quicktime and then to mp4 using handbrake

I have noticed that the 1st step take roughly 4/5 times the original lenght of the clip, and the 2nd step around 1 or 2 times.
this means that a 5 mins clip will take a total of 30/40 minutes to be finished and ready to upload.

now....for comparison, I have also tried to use his first rendering method ("Good Method"), and rendered straight to Mainconcept AVC with the settings that the video advises to use.

well, it took me 1.5 hours to do a 5 minutes clips!!! how is that possible? how can rendering be so slow!! please notice that I am rendering a two-cam straight 7Mbps footage without any grading, only added the sony levels plugin that's all (and obviously cross fades between cam 1 and cam2)
Federico Perale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2012, 10:09 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: stupid question about rendering to 1440*1080

Is processor an older one? Have you rendered to AVC before with better results? I render 60 minutes of 1080 to avc in less than about 45 minutes I believe, I'm not sure on the exact time. This includes color correction and photos mixed in. I use an i7 980 at 4 ghz.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2012, 10:18 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London
Posts: 410
Re: stupid question about rendering to 1440*1080

these are the specs. it's a vaio laptop I've bought a couple of yrs ago

Processor: Intel Core i7 (720QM) 1.6GHz 6MB (L2 Cache)
Memory (Maximum): 8192MB (8192MB) 1333MHz DDR3
Hard Disk: 500GB (1 x 500GB) 5400RPM Serial ATA Hard Drive
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)

I am using Vegas pro 10 (32 bit)

the original clips were in 1440*1080 and I am resizing to 1920*1080 though so there is resizing
Federico Perale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2012, 10:25 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: stupid question about rendering to 1440*1080

On my system I resize from 1080 to 480 even faster, 1 hour video takes about 20 minutes, maybe 30 at the very most. I think your processor is the issue. Personally I cannot imagine working on a laptop, but I know a lot of people do. I do it for a living however, so I must use a desktop.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2012, 10:28 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London
Posts: 410
Re: stupid question about rendering to 1440*1080

thank you Jeff
do you mind sharing some tricks (if you have any) to fine-tune your computer for Vegas? you precessor is newer but your rendering times are gobsmackingly faster than mine...
Federico Perale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2012, 10:58 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: stupid question about rendering to 1440*1080

It's all in the processor speed, nothing more, sorry to say. I overclock, but it does not add as much speed as one would think.

You simply cannot speed things up using an old mobile processor enough to make a difference. I assemble my own PCs, so I have tried everything in the past, but you simply have to increase processor speed to increase rendering times enough to even notice any difference.

You can fiddle with rendering settings, etc, but overall it's all about the CPU. Sorry for the bad news.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network