Add FX by default to project media at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 29th, 2012, 11:53 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Add FX by default to project media

Hey guys,
I'm editing about 60 odd hrs of 3 cam multi shoot.
Every comp needs CC to all 3 cams,
Is there any way to set up that every clip added to the bin has by default Sony CC and Levels?
I know I can do tracks with default FX, but thats no good, since Im multi camming everything, (also, unrelated rant! Why does track FX leave a keyframe at every adjustment even with the clock not touched! End rant)
Also, why cant we copy FX in the bin and paste to another clip?
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2012, 12:50 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Add FX by default to project media

Gerald, could you add the effects to one clip, as I routinely do, and then right click - copy, and then select the remainder of your clips and then paste attributes? Your desired way would be nice, of course, but pasting attributes is pretty simple too. Or am I missing something?
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2012, 03:02 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Re: Add FX by default to project media

Thanks Jeff,
Ive been CCing by bin, just because everything is multi cam, and i'm using Vegas multi which as you know doesnt support fx except at Project media level, or after the Cam track has been made,
( GOTCHA ALERT! If you do all your cutting on the multicam track then do your FX, then you think, I might just expand these tracks to separate tracks again, you lose all your FX when recombining. Always use a nested project for multicams if you think you may have to re sync along the way.)

Maybe a script to add FX by default? Excalibur?
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2012, 05:06 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Add FX by default to project media

Gerald, I forgot about that FX issue with Vegas' multicam. I don't use it, but I remember now hearing about the issue. It's so strange and really should be fixed.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2012, 11:31 AM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Add FX by default to project media

A script can certainly be used to add them. In fact, it could probably be made automatic. You would need a custom command that checked to see if the Media Pool changed and, if yes, add those effects to anything in the Media Pool that did not have those effects. However, it would probably be a little more complicated than that as you probably wouldn't want them applied to any generated media. And, of course, if you removed them from any clip in the Media Pool, it would add them right back in!
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2012, 03:42 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 63
Re: Add FX by default to project media

you can open up the project media bin, right click on each source file an select 'media FX'.

I had the same issue with multicam editing and and found out by accident it can be done that way after redoing lots of edits over and over..... and over
Ray Turcotte is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:17 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network