creating AVCHD Discs at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 18th, 2012, 10:37 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
creating AVCHD Discs

Can Movie Studio Platinum or DVD Architect 5.2 (latest with Pro 11), create AVCHD DVD's ? This is a way to get HD without using a Blue Ray burner and will now play in many new blue Ray players.

RonC.
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2012, 12:38 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Waterloo, ON, Canada
Posts: 79
Re: creating AVCHD Discs

I'm not entirely sure about DVD Architect 5.2 but when I last looked into this I was informed that Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum, Vegas Pro and DVD Architect actually create BDMV discs on DVD media, not true AVCHD. Apparently, some BD players can read one type, some the other type and maybe some players both types. It's all very confusing and unfortunate.
Alen Koebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2012, 12:53 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Re: creating AVCHD Discs

It sure is Alen, and I don't think Sony is actually helping, as even most low cost editors, (Power Director, Pinnacle etc.), will burn AVCHD discs these days.

RonC.
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2012, 02:35 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 42
Re: creating AVCHD Discs

The AVCHD disc option was dropped from Vegas / VMStudio / DVDA S and P in later 2011 builds. In DVDA Studio 5.0 this was after build 128 and DVDA Pro 5.2 after build 124.
https://www.custcenter.com/app/answe...d/4415/kw/4415
How do you use imgburn with Vegas Movie Studio 11 to burn an AVCHD DVD?
Jorma Nippala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2012, 08:16 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 481
Re: creating AVCHD Discs

Thanks Jorma. It seems very strange that Sony took this feature out of Vegas, which won't help its acceptance. However, you gave at least, a way of showing how to do it.
Thanks.

RonC.
Ron Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2012, 12:30 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Waterloo, ON, Canada
Posts: 79
Re: creating AVCHD Discs

This is interesting news. I wasn't aware they took out that capability. I wonder why? I actually have VMStudio HD Platinum (I swear at that name every time I type it) version 10 and the accompanying DVD Architect Studio 5 that I got in Sony's Imagination Studio Suite 2. I suppose that means the versions I have will do it, but it's still not "true" AVCHD, right? Or does that patcher app fix that?
Alen Koebel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network