Solid color settings? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 13th, 2012, 05:23 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Solid color settings?

Is this a bug?
I'm sure I have made a solid color at varied sizes before, yet now Vegas seems to always expand to the longest side.
Note this is a 240 wide by 600 high solid with "Stretch to fill Frame" off.
It should sit neatly in the middle of a 1080p frame, yeah?
Have I forgotten something simple?
Wouldn't be the first time :)
Attached Thumbnails
Solid color settings?-veg-0-00-00-00-.jpg  
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2012, 09:41 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Solid color settings?

If you right-click the preview screen, is "Scale Video to fit preview screen" checked? If not, check it.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2012, 02:07 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Re: Solid color settings?

Thanks for the suggestion Edward, but alas, thats not it.
It appears to be a bug/fault, because-
If I drop a media generator solid color on the timeline it behaves as above no matter how I change the size of it.
But,
If I make the solid color project size, then save frame as a PNG, then drop the new PNG file back on the timeline, I have full control of it by un checking the Stretch to Fill Frame option and can make it any shape I want with the Pan Crop settings.
Could someone take a min and verify this to make sure it isnt just my install of Vegas being wacky.
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2012, 08:07 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 93
Re: Solid color settings?

Can't repro, works fine here. I'd also guessed it's just your preview not showing the complete height of the frame.
Marco Ba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2012, 09:50 PM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Solid color settings?

Same here, I tested it and it worked fine for me.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2012, 06:32 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Re: Solid color settings?

Sorted it.
My bad. I was trying to change the media generator size in the MEDIA GENERATOR options window.
Changing it in the PAN CROP WINDOW (like I did the imported solid) works fine.
Thanks for your time though, Marco and Edward.
I still consider it a fault though, If I choose to generate a solid, and choose it to be 200 x 200 shouldn't it display at that without having to crop it?
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2012, 05:23 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 93
Re: Solid color settings?

This is the way Vegas Pro regulary works (it always behaved that way) - not only for generated media but for all kind of (video/grafics/foto) media. To overcome you have to open Pan/Crop and set width and height to the project dimension. I think there are some scripts available to automate.

There are pros and cons in that given workflow.
Marco Ba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2012, 11:16 AM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Solid color settings?

The "Logo Resize" option in Excalibur will reset it to match whatever size you originally set it to. However, it also does so by adjusting the Pan/Crop so you are just as well off adjusting the Pan/Crop as needed.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 10:27 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany / Denver, CO
Posts: 137
Re: Solid color settings?

Pardon my ignorance but... how do you get the whole UI to be so (nicely) dark gray? Is there some sort of undocumented setting? Can't figure out for the life of me why they don't have a simple slider a la Adobe for that :( .. sorry for off topic!
Soeren Mueller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 10:30 AM   #10
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Solid color settings?

Soeren, which version of Vegas Pro do you have installed?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 10:35 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany / Denver, CO
Posts: 137
Re: Solid color settings?

Currently trying out 11 Pro, using an older version in the office currently but planning to upgrade (but I guess now going to 12 directly makes much more sense) .. or is this a new v12 feature?
Soeren Mueller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 12:05 PM   #12
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Solid color settings?

Vegas has the option where you can develop your own Windows color scheme and use that scheme. Or you can use the Vegas default scheme which came about in Vegas Pro 9 and newer. The Pro 9 screen has darker colors than the older Vegas Pro 8 and older screens. However, if you want it even darker, you will need to turn off the option to use the Vegas color scheme and create your own in Windows. If you do that, please note you'll change ALL your windows programs.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 01:09 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany / Denver, CO
Posts: 137
Re: Solid color settings?

Aaah ok.. too bad.. I think I read about that workaround once.. but I don't like to change the global color settings... they should really add a setting for that, should be pretty easy :/ .. but thanks anyways!
Soeren Mueller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 04:45 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Re: Solid color settings?

Like Edward said,
The color scheme is a change to Windows itself.
You can change your explorerframe.dll in Windows to a custom version. The one I use, in simple terms, inverts all windows.
So, (when using a custom theme) all white backgrounds become dark gray and the text white, instead of black.
I also change shell32.dll (for all control panel screens)
Swap out your imageres.dll for a custom version and you end up with a much easier on the eye Windows experience.
Attached Thumbnails
Solid color settings?-capture.jpg  
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2012, 12:06 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany / Denver, CO
Posts: 137
Re: Solid color settings?

Hey Gerald, that looks really nice! Does it work the same with Win7 64 bit? Well I guess 64 bit is whats everyones using here anyways ;) ... so where can I get the DLLs your using? Or did you patch/change them yourself? Would be awesome to give this a try!
Soeren Mueller is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network