DVD Architect at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 17th, 2012, 07:17 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 150
DVD Architect

I just finished editing a wedding in full HD (23Gigs) I want to make a Standard DVD of it. (5.9Gigs) I go up to tools in Vegas and click on make DVD. The wedding renders just fine. When I send it to DVD Architect it keeps telling me that the project is too big for the media. The project is 5.9 Gigs and my blank DVD-RDL is 8.5 Gigs. It keeps telling me to add chapter marks and I do, but it still Saidís the project is too big for the selected media. Can someone tell me how to burn a 5.9 Gig project using DVD Architect to a DVD-RDL?

Thanks

Gary
Gary Randall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2012, 10:46 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Re: DVD Architect

Gary, I've made several DVDs this way but they've all been single layer, not dual-layer.
I stand to be corrected but I don't think you can use dual-layer discs to do this.
You'll have to do your authoring in DVD Architect (after rendering standard def MPEG-2 and AC-3 files, of course).
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2012, 11:07 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 150
Re: DVD Architect

Mike,

That is what I am doing, Authoring in DVDA. Then it tells me the project is too big. I somehow need to tell DVDA that I am using a DL, but I don't know how to do that
Gary Randall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2012, 12:06 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Reading Berkshire UK
Posts: 827
Re: DVD Architect

I use a lot of dual layer DVDs. Yes you get the message about capacity but then a few clicks later you get a dialogue box asking where the break point for the 2nd layer should come - you can select to have it done automatically or choose it yourself. Have a look at Page 168 of the PDF manual which you can download from the Sony site.

I use M for markers in my original editing in Vegas Pro to insert Markers at the appropriate points. Typically a project might be up to two hours long and around 8gb when rendered out of SVP. It will have been several nested sub-projects as .veg files and each sub-project has a marker at its start which I insert as I'm making the nested version.

More often than not these Markers are natural break points that DVDA will choose when looking for the best break point. But if it thinks that the break point cannot be one of the Markers then it will ask you to insert an M for marker into the DVDA timeline direct and it will give you a range of time within which the break should fall.

As I say I always do the initial Markers in SVP as these then can act as automatic Chapter points when you bring it into DVDA so long as you tell SVP to include the Markers - which is an option in the Render templates. TV remote controls will allow you to skip to and fro between the chapters which you included by way of the Markers n.b. no need to actually create chapters in DVDA.

Not exactly intuitive but it works fine :- )

Pete
Peter Riding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2012, 01:52 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 758
Re: DVD Architect

I'm hoping this is really simple...

Open the DVDA project
Go to File --> Properties
Click on the 'Disc Properties' tab
Disc Format should be set to DVD
Target Media Size should be set to 8.4 GB

Click on the 'Mastering' tab
Make sure the DVD-ROM type is set to the correct DVD type (DVD-9 (8.5 GB))

I suspect you have Target Media Size set to 4.7 GB

Make sure the rest of the properties are consistent with what you are trying to do.
The disk labels the disk will be burned with are down at the bottom of the properties tab.

DVDA first has to master a disk image and it looks to make sure your project properties are consistent with the audio+video files you are feeding it. It isn't looking at your optical disk - yet. When it does it will be checking the disk type+size against project properties for consistency as well.

Last edited by Bill Koehler; October 17th, 2012 at 02:00 PM. Reason: Added 'Mastering' tab info
Bill Koehler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2012, 10:10 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 150
Re: DVD Architect

Hey Bill,

Can you tell me where the Mastering Tab is on DVDA? I can't find it
Gary Randall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2012, 10:57 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: DVD Architect

It's also under File - Properties.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2012, 01:27 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 42
Re: DVD Architect

DVD Architect STUDIO does not have the Mastering tab. Anyway, why not just change the Target media size to 8.5 GB in File > Properties / Disc Properties (and get a Verbatim DVD+R DL)?
edit: straight From online Help: You can also change this setting by right-clicking the free space display in the bottom-right corner of the DVD Architect Studio/Pro window and choosing a command from the shortcut menu.
Works at least in builds Studio 5.0.128 and Pro 5.2.124.

Last edited by Jorma Nippala; October 18th, 2012 at 02:41 PM.
Jorma Nippala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2012, 10:47 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 758
Re: DVD Architect

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Randall View Post
Hey Bill,

Can you tell me where the Mastering Tab is on DVDA? I can't find it
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
It's also under File - Properties.
That's it!
Bill Koehler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2012, 10:13 AM   #10
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
Re: DVD Architect

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Randall View Post
I just finished editing a wedding in full HD (23Gigs) I want to make a Standard DVD of it. (5.9Gigs) I go up to tools in Vegas and click on make DVD. The wedding renders just fine. When I send it to DVD Architect it keeps telling me that the project is too big for the media. The project is 5.9 Gigs and my blank DVD-RDL is 8.5 Gigs. It keeps telling me to add chapter marks and I do, but it still Saidís the project is too big for the selected media. Can someone tell me how to burn a 5.9 Gig project using DVD Architect to a DVD-RDL?

Thanks

Gary
Don't "make DVD." Go to Render As, MPEG-2, and use one of the DVD Architect templates (whatever is appropriate).

Then render the sound as AC-3.
David Jimerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2012, 12:46 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 150
Re: DVD Architect

Just a follow-up. I worked on this for days and days with no luck. Then it hit me. I was using the same DVD-RDL disk. It was never burned, but they was something wrong with it. I put in a new DVD-RDL and it works fine. Thanks everyone for your help. Could of had a V8

Gary
Gary Randall is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network