Using Dual Monitors with Vegas? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 6th, 2012, 06:26 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 8,222
Using Dual Monitors with Vegas?

Hi Guys
I was just wondering if anyone has this issue (not a big deal but it's not right) On normal non-edit use I just use one 23" LCD (DVI cable) but for editing on Vegas I have a second 19" monitor (VGA) that has just the preview screen on it when Vegas 10 is running. By default I only turn on the 23" screen for normal duties (like now) but when I need to edit I'll turn on the 19" as well and then start Vegas ....Now!! when I turn on the 19" , the 23" goes blank and my desktop moves to the 19" screen so I have to right click and select screen resolution, then "Detect" and the 23" screen comes back and my desktop has moved back to the 23" screen.... and all is OK ...Vegas loads without an issue and auto moves the preview to the 19" on my right.
Anyone have the same issue where Win 7 "forgets" about the 2nd monitor Am I not setting the dual monitor setup correctly?? It's only a minor inconvenience but it would be nice to run on the main 23" screen and then be able to turn the 19" on without the main screen going blank and the desktop shifting to the 19".....Sometimes I can turn on the 2nd monitor and it's all fine but 50% of the time the Primary screen blanks out and I have to go thru the "detect" process!!!
Any hints here??
Chris
Chris Harding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2012, 08:40 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Re: Using Dual Monitors with Vegas?

Not exactly your experience, but yes, I have had Win7 put my second monitor to sleep when I thought it shouldn't.

But, on a similar setup, I did have to go through designating one of my monitors as the "primary". I'm pretty sure I did this in the nVidia controls, but it might have been Win7.

Win7 is pretty flexible though, regardless of which monitor is the official "primary", it will jump around if it's turned off. That's a good thing, I guess. But a correct setting here should get the behavior you want when both monitors are on.
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2012, 08:46 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Re: Using Dual Monitors with Vegas?

Unrelated to Vegas, but the first thing I would try would be switching the video card outlets around.
My Hackintosh wont boot with my 1080p monitor in position 1, it wants to see the 2560 monitor there and there only.
Worth a try b4 the long trouble shoot begins.
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2012, 10:07 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 8,222
Re: Using Dual Monitors with Vegas?

Hi Guys

Under the Nvidia control panel if you select "Multiple displays" it shows both monitors but it does list the 19" first and the 23" second but in the configure box below they are correctly identified and "1" for the 23" and "2" for the 19" (smaller is on the right) and also shows the 23" as the primary display....I cannot switch the cables cos my card only has one VGA terminal and one DVI terminal so I have to run the 19" in VGA. It suscessfully detects both even though the 19" is current off!! If I turn the 19" on..it all works fine 99% of the time...Just now and again it needs to run thru the "detect" routine and loses the Primary display.

Now, dunno if this would matter but I am using an external USB drive for my projects ..I wonder if that causes any issues with detection as I usually turn on the drive, then the monitor and then load Vegas???
AFAIK the display has never lost one screen with the USB drive kept off???

Chris
Chris Harding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2012, 04:24 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Re: Using Dual Monitors with Vegas?

I'm just seeing this and frankly since it's about 4AM I probably shouldn't even think of answering but don't you have to go into windows properties and extend the desktop. I know in XP that's what I had to do for duals. Then I simply set the Vegas interface up on the 2 monitors the way I wanted it.
Maybe I should go back to bed since I have a load-in and show setup tonight at 9PM. Running video world on Thursday at a big seminar.
__________________
What do I know? I'm just a video-O-grafer.
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2012, 05:18 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 8,222
Re: Using Dual Monitors with Vegas?

Thanks Don

Sleep tight!!

I just turn the second display on and again the primary went blank and my desktop moved to the secondary display and I had to click detect again to get the primary display back again..after that both are fine!!

Chris
Chris Harding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2012, 12:13 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Apple Valley CA
Posts: 4,866
Re: Using Dual Monitors with Vegas?

When you physically turn off one monitor, it's "gone" to Windows, and that's likely where the "problem" arises. Multiple monitors can be a bit twitchy sometimes.

You might consider swapping your cables at the video card(s?) as suggested, I've got mine set up "backwards", but it works... The card will have a "1" and "2", as does Windows... but if the monitor on "1" is OFF, 2 becomes "1"... then if "1" comes back ON, it will likely default to "1", and 2 will be 2 again (did that make sense?).
Dave Blackhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2012, 12:19 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Re: Using Dual Monitors with Vegas?

I'm not in front of my Win7 machine, but designating your primary display in windows display properties is where I'd look. Darn PCs want to think for themselves, but I maintain that I am smarter!
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2012, 12:56 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Aberdeen Scotland
Posts: 593
Re: Using Dual Monitors with Vegas?

If you swap the monitor cables. Did you know that in the settings page you can hold left click and move the monitors around.
Donald McPherson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2012, 10:27 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Maidstone, Kent, UK
Posts: 190
Re: Using Dual Monitors with Vegas?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Harding View Post
I only turn on the 23" screen for normal duties but when I need to edit I'll turn on the 19" as well and then start Vegas.
Any hints here??
I usually switch on both monitors prior to starting the PC, then, once Windows has started up correctly, switch off the one I don't want to use. If I then want to use that second screen, I just switch it back on and Windows thought it was there all the time so nothing changes.

Regards
David
David Johns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2012, 02:10 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Using Dual Monitors with Vegas?

When using one monitor or a dual setup, either way, I never turn monitors off, is not necessary, IMO. With a dual monitor setup it only adds confusion. It has occurred to me I have not turned off a monitor in years, FWIW.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2012, 04:57 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Using Dual Monitors with Vegas?

+1 jeff.

unless you have huge old crts ;-)
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network