Still struggling with gopro and vegas at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 18th, 2013, 06:07 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ithaca, NY (USA)
Posts: 40
Still struggling with gopro and vegas

(Vegas Pro 12) and cineform update...anyone else? getting 2 fps in preview, whether in clipping window or other. This is albeit on a laptop, but an ok one i7 2630qm. Wimpy vid-card, geforce gt 540m 2gb. Reason I ask, have finally funds for a proper workstation (dual xeons etc), mostly for 3d work (will build render-farm at some point), but wondering whether just settings or something or just gopro vids don't want to play nice with vegas results in terrible preview. No probs playing back gopro vids in VLC or Quicktime, although color is better in quicktime..

Can't believe the steve mobs believers with their even punier hardware are getting any better, or am I completely off-base here?

Thanks, all suggestions welcome...

PS rendering on Vegas 12 is also painfully slow...
Arne Pursell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2013, 03:01 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Riga, Latvija, EU
Posts: 280
Re: Still struggling with gopro and vegas

Verify Your project settings, are they consistent with a GoPro camera file parameters. I do not use CineForm, and I only have a Core i3 processor with the same video card (540M), and full quality playback takes place in real time.
Juris Lielpeteris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2013, 03:58 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Reading Berkshire UK
Posts: 827
Re: Still struggling with gopro and vegas

Presumably you are talking about Protune files rather than standard files.

In multicam edit mode non-Protune clips play fine for me, always have. But they are hopeless when Protune. I've been using the free Cineform Studio to convert them to AVI. Then all is well. I've been using the Medium setting.

Pete
Peter Riding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2013, 02:17 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sætre, Norway
Posts: 27
Re: Still struggling with gopro and vegas

Are you running your gopro files thru the Cineform app beforehand or dropping the native files right on the time line?

Running native gopro files is going to be a painfull experience, forget preveiwing cross-fades etc.

Running them thru cinefom and Vegas will go through them like butter.

I don't know the exaxet technical specs, but gopro only records something like evey 14th frame as a full image. The stuff between is only the differences beween the full frames. Cineform makes ALL the frames full frame. When you put this full frame avi or mov on the timeline, the pc doesn't need to process the video first.
Cedric Cornell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network