MPEG-2 or AVC? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 25th, 2013, 09:19 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 340
MPEG-2 or AVC?

Vegas Pro 12, render
Using the template MainConcept MPEG-2
Bluray 1920 x 1080 60i, 25 Mbps video stream

DVD Architect Pro 6.0
I have to choose between MPEG-2 or AVC.
Which will give a better quality picture?

Are commercial BD movies MPEG-2 or AVC?

Thanks,
Norris Combs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 04:52 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Posts: 936
Re: MPEG-2 or AVC?

Norris,

Most commercial BD movies these days are either AVC or VC-1. A few early BDs were MPEG-2.

On the other hand, if you've already rendered (encoded) out your project as MPEG-2, then you should use MPEG-2 in DVD Architect to avoid recompression. Using AVC in DVDA will force reencoding and recompression of MPEG-2 material, which will degrade image quality.
Randall Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 11:51 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 340
Re: MPEG-2 or AVC?

Thanks Randall,

Yes I did select MPEG-2 in DVDA and it turned out really nice. Now what if I had rendered out a file in AVC, and selected AVC in DVDA, would there be any difference in the result when comparing to the MPEG-2 file?
To be more clear, would I expect to see any picture quality difference? How about compatibility with standalone BD players?
Norris Combs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 01:27 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: MPEG-2 or AVC?

The limit for Sony AVC in Vegas is 20Mbps. To go higher, unfortunately, you have to use a different encoder. Try encoding to Avid DNxHD first, then use a different encoder completely separate from Vegas and DVDA to create the AVC stream. If you're using Sony's encoder, you will not get optimal results. Do keep in mind that DVDA is VERY picky about files and will re-encode if it sees a unoptimized file.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 02:47 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Riga, Latvija, EU
Posts: 280
Re: MPEG-2 or AVC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Zhang View Post
The limit for Sony AVC in Vegas is 20Mbps
DVD Architect encoder has no such restriction.
Juris Lielpeteris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 04:05 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: MPEG-2 or AVC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juris Lielpeteris View Post
DVD Architect encoder has no such restriction.
Unfortunately, in DVDA, it's locked in at Main Profile. To choose High profile, you have to use the Vegas Sony AVC encoder, and that is limited to 20Mbps.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2013, 02:23 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Riga, Latvija, EU
Posts: 280
Re: MPEG-2 or AVC?

Jack, try it yourself (picture must contain sufficient detail and movement):
Attached Thumbnails
MPEG-2 or AVC?-starpliktuve-1.jpg   MPEG-2 or AVC?-starpliktuve-2.jpg  

Juris Lielpeteris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2013, 12:57 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: MPEG-2 or AVC?

I know the bitrate can be obtained, but see the 2nd screenshot where it says "Main @ 4.1?" With Sony AVC, you can choose High profile.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2013, 02:26 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Riga, Latvija, EU
Posts: 280
Re: MPEG-2 or AVC?

The only significant difference is that 88 intra prediction size not alowed in main profile. I don't know, use Sony AVC it ot not in hight profile.
Juris Lielpeteris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2013, 03:22 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Re: MPEG-2 or AVC?

At 40Mbps the differences between Main and High profiles will be imperceptible. That's a lot of bitrate for h.264/AVC at 1080i, even for high-motion content.
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network