Capture Live from CAM to PC at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 9th, 2013, 12:42 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Warren, Ohio
Posts: 101
Capture Live from CAM to PC

How do I go about connecting my camcorder to my PC and capturing live video to both my PC hard drive and camera's hard drive at the same time? On the PC I am running Vegas Pro 10 and my cameras are Sony XR500V and XR550V.

~Brad
Brad Ridgeway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2013, 01:38 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Capture Live from CAM to PC

You would do it the same way you capture in post. Just connect the firewire cable and open the capture app in Vegas. The one "trick" you need to do is to turn off device control. Vegas doesn't have to "play" so no device control is needed.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2013, 01:55 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Riga, Latvija, EU
Posts: 280
Re: Capture Live from CAM to PC

Cameras such as the Sony XR500V has not IEEE1394 output.
You need to use an HDMI capture card like BlackMagic Intensity.
Juris Lielpeteris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2013, 03:23 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Capture Live from CAM to PC

Beware that file sizes for your PC captures would be way bigger because Vegas' internal capture program only captures uncompressed. You're better off getting the Blackmagic Card and using it's Media Express software. (that supports a more disk space friendly MJPEG codec)
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2013, 05:12 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Riga, Latvija, EU
Posts: 280
Re: Capture Live from CAM to PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Zhang View Post
Vegas' internal capture program only captures uncompressed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad Ridgeway View Post
I am running Vegas Pro 10
Vegas Pro 10 can capture video not only uncompressed but also in XDCam HD 422. Of course, Blacmagic codec is much easier for processor.
Juris Lielpeteris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2013, 05:56 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Capture Live from CAM to PC

Hold on, this is the first I've seen that you could capture MXF with the Intensity!

Just tested it out. You will need at least an i7 6-core to encode MXF in real-time reliably. MJPEG is going to be much less processor intensive.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2013, 09:44 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Warren, Ohio
Posts: 101
Re: Capture Live from CAM to PC

Thanks for the responses. I'm sure I'll be able to figure this out once I get to that point.

The reason I was asking this question is because I have been asked to do video of performances at a regional dance competition. I was asked if I could burn DVDs of the performances on the fly for same day delivery of orders and I was assuming I would need to capture directly to a PC in order to even have a chance of doing this. It turns out that for this weekend I will be taking orders and delivering within 4 weeks instead of same day. However, it is something I want to consider for the future since many dance competitions are doing it that way.
Brad Ridgeway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2013, 10:40 AM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Capture Live from CAM to PC

At church, we have multiple cameras that are connected to a switcher. We then run the output of the switcher to a DV deck which also outputs to a DVD Recorder. The deck is also connected to a computer via firewire. We actually record the church service on DV tape, DVD, and capture to the computer live. So, if necessary, we could start creating DVD copies as soon as the service is over.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network