Intermediate Render Formats at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 31st, 2013, 01:53 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Warren, Ohio
Posts: 101
Intermediate Render Formats

First let me say that I don't have a whole lot of experience with video editing.

In the past, I have rendered out my projects to an intermediate Cineform (avi) format because I like to use "TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works" for encoding to MPEG (DVD) format.

For some reason, my Vegas 10 pro is no longer recognizing the Cineform codec as it gives me errors when trying to render out to that format.

Does anyone know why this may be happening or can someone recommend a different good intermediate render format out of Vegas Pro 10? I have installed the GoPro Cineform Studio which should contain the Cineform codec, but for some reason, Vegas is no longer recognizing it.
Brad Ridgeway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2013, 04:06 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 240
Re: Intermediate Render Formats

Brad,
I've been using Cineform with Vegas 12. Seems fine. What rendering quality are you using? "High" should be OK, but if "Filmscan1" or Filmscan2" is on your menu, it might not be supported (with the free version of Cineform).
-- Ken
Ken Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2013, 04:17 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Warren, Ohio
Posts: 101
Re: Intermediate Render Formats

It used to work fine for me too, but then GoPro Cineform Studio did an update on my PC and the Cineform codec no longer works with Vegas 10 Pro. I get an error saying no compatible video codec found.

I now have the Lagarith codec and I am going to try that. Does someone know which mode I should use - RGB, YUY2, or YV12? My source footage on my Vegas timeline is Sony AVC if that makes any difference.
Brad Ridgeway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2013, 05:12 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 899
Re: Intermediate Render Formats

I would try uninstalling the GoPro software and uninstalling and re-installing V10 and see if that restores the Cineform functionality.

I have Vegas 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12 and the GoPro Cineform Studio installed. I tried a Cineform render in v10 64-bit and all output options were available and the render went fine. I also have Cineform NeoScene installed which obviously could have some impact on the whole scenario.

I also have TMPGEnc VM Works 5 installed which if I look under the AVI render out formats shows me that Go-Pro Cineform v7.6.2 (CFHD) codec is available for output. As far as I know this is a 64-bit version which now raises the question is your Vegas 10 a 32 or 64-bit version. If it is a 32-bit install the later GoPro 64-bit codec installation might be the issue.

Let us know how you go.

Chris Young
CYV productions
Sydney
Christopher Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2013, 09:39 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 1,770
Re: Intermediate Render Formats

This is a problem that use to come up in older versions of Vegas and Cineform so I don't know if it still applies but you might look to see if there is a CFHD.dll in your Vegas install directory. You should also have the same file in your Windows system directory. Copy the one from the Window's directory to replace the one in the Vegas directory. That might help.


Good luck.
__________________
Garrett Low
www.GLowMediaProductions.com
Garrett Low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2013, 06:53 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Warren, Ohio
Posts: 101
Re: Intermediate Render Formats

I finally got Cineform to work again. Here's what I did...

Uninstall GoPro Cineform Studio (version 1.3.2.169 was the latest I had) and clean up the registry.

Install older version of GoPro Cineform Studio (I had the installation file for version 1.2.1.129 which is the one I had installed for the first time).

The Cineform codec is now recognized and works fine with Vegas Pro 10.

I had tried uninstalling and reinstalling the latest version of Cineform Studio several times and even uninstalled and reinstalled Vegas 10 Pro without any success. There must be something different in the cineform codec that comes with the newer version of Cinerform Studio vs the older versions.
Brad Ridgeway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2013, 11:49 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 899
Re: Intermediate Render Formats

Yes, understood. Thought it might end up with an expanation along these sorts of lines. So easy to get trapped theses days. One minor change to one piece of software and the impact is felt down the line by other programs. Always a good idea to store old program executables... you never know when you have roll back. Glad you got it sorted!

Chris Young
CYV Productions
Sydney
Christopher Young is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network