Rendering BR and DVD twice?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 24th, 2013, 07:04 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Broadstairs,Kent, England
Posts: 219
Rendering BR and DVD twice??

I shoot 1920/50P for weddings and in Vegas Pro 11, I render out to the Main Concept default bluray template....that works fine. (DVD and Bluray content are identical in terms of what the viewer watches.)
Then, I do the same for DVD using the Main Concept (except in progressive) template. Also works fine.

Seems to me I'm doubling my workload, especially when a timeline is heavy with color correction etc.
Can anyone suggest a better way than having to render the same project twice?
It also has to be compatible with DVD Architect. Thanks!!
Chris Hewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2013, 08:01 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Rendering BR and DVD twice??

As you are sending to two different output formats, you'll certainly have to render twice.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2013, 09:26 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Broadstairs,Kent, England
Posts: 219
Re: Rendering BR and DVD twice??

Thanks Edward,...I was wondering if I could render to a full HD format and use that to render the mpeg2 file.
Chris Hewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2013, 12:22 PM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Rendering BR and DVD twice??

Sure. But it's still two renders. You would take your blue ray output, put it on the timeline, and render again to MPEG2 for the standard DVD. Don't know if it would be any faster. You'd have to check and see.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2013, 02:03 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Broadstairs,Kent, England
Posts: 219
Re: Rendering BR and DVD twice??

Will do Edward...it would have to be much faster if the original timeline was FX heavy.
Chris Hewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2013, 04:02 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Independence MO.
Posts: 318
Re: Rendering BR and DVD twice??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
Sure. But it's still two renders. You would take your blue ray output, put it on the timeline, and render again to MPEG2 for the standard DVD. Don't know if it would be any faster. You'd have to check and see.

Seems to me if he is not having to deal with all of the color corrections again that it should be a lot faster.

This would depend on how much and what type of color correction(s) were originally used as well as his system.

It would be great if one could use a batch file to have Vegas render all of this in an automatic way! Going far beyond regions with scripts!

I use batch files for Handbrake and some other apps. Why not Vegas as well?
__________________
www.dannyfye.com
Danny Fye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2013, 05:24 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Broadstairs,Kent, England
Posts: 219
Re: Rendering BR and DVD twice??

Problem is...as far as I know, you can't put rendered bluray video files on the timeline even though Vegas rendered them originally. You can create a bluray iso image, mount it then bring the files in that way which does work but It just seems a bit long winded.
My original question was only in regard to avoiding e.g. two hour plus renders x2.
Is there maybe a third party software that can render hd from Vegas down to mpeg2?
I know Handbrake can't.....
Chris Hewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2013, 09:57 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Rendering BR and DVD twice??

There is no way to avoid rendering twice, not really. To re-render the BR file makes no sense. Unless I'm missing something here, you just need to do it if you are putting out in two formats. Bite the bullet and get'er done. I put out in three formats, so I render three times. I know your pain.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2013, 01:52 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Re: Rendering BR and DVD twice??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hewitt View Post
...Is there maybe a third party software that can render hd from Vegas down to mpeg2?
I know Handbrake can't.....
Sure, any of the premium encoders can easily set up a batch encode. For example, in Sorenson Squeeze you can set up a watch folder, have Vegas render a master to that folder, then Squeeze will automatically pick it up and run some preset encodes on it, for example to BR, DVD-MPEG2, YouTube, whatever.

You'll pay for the privilege, but sometimes it's well worth it.
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2013, 09:04 AM   #10
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Rendering BR and DVD twice??

No matter what you do or how you do it, in short you must render multiple times - period.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2013, 08:09 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Broadstairs,Kent, England
Posts: 219
Re: Rendering BR and DVD twice??

Seth, you mention Sorenson Squeeze and I have downloaded the free trial and used it to create a mpg file for DVD from the rendered m2v HD file which was created in Vegas. It plays fine and looks great....only thing is that DVD Architect Pro 5.2 doesn't recognise it....which kind of negates the whole process.
Can anyone help me on this as I think the Squeeze mpg looks much better than the Vegas rendered mpg?
Chris Hewitt is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:11 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network