Vegas Problem - Anyone help? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 24th, 2015, 10:39 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Wick
Posts: 69
Vegas Problem - Anyone help?

Hi all - I'm editing a piece together at the moment and some weird things happening with Vegas (see attached clip). I'm using the NewBlue V3 Split Screen plug in. It's doing my nut in!

Passowrd: su
Ian Whelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2015, 01:36 AM   #2
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Re: Vegas Problem - Anyone help?

Ian, you're going to have to give more info.

I've just tested a 3 Clip and Vegas is working fine.

Here's a thought, as this isn't a GPU accelerated plug - yes? - if you have GPU ON try it OFF.

I noticed that it was after the a PUSH Left transition that things started happening - yes? If you DID use that Trannie, there have been reports of the PUSH Trannie having issues.

Yeah, it's a pig and no mistake. Sometimes a REBOOT gets thing sorted out.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2015, 05:25 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Riga, Latvija, EU
Posts: 280
Re: Vegas Problem - Anyone help?

Sometimes can help the transcoding of source clips in more suitable format for editing.
Juris Lielpeteris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2015, 02:17 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: RF
Posts: 23
Re: Vegas Problem - Anyone help?

I'm pretty sure that this is a GPU problem
Aleksey Tarasov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2015, 02:22 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Re: Vegas Problem - Anyone help?

What format is the video data and what other plugins are operating on those clips (eg colour correction etc)?

I had a similar issue with some footage shot on a Panasonic GH2 (AVCHD format) where I used certain plugins in conjunction with Colorfast, notably Vignette. Trouble was, the point at which the problem started was not always the same so when I came to show it to the guys at NewBlue I couldn't reproduce it! THe problem didn't manifest itself with footage in other formats. I think the suggestion that it's GPU related is highly likely.
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2015, 11:03 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 369
Re: Vegas Problem - Anyone help?

Have had the same problem with other new blue effects although I haven't used split screen. Because the glitches were usually random, I re-booted and rendered to a new track as a work around or just replaced them. I'm a big fan of new blue fwiw, but some of the effects seem to cause issues.
Duane Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2015, 11:17 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Re: Vegas Problem - Anyone help?

In the interest of fairness I have also encountered occasional issues with Boris plugins so I don't think the phenomenon is limited to NewBlue plugins ( of which I am a massive fan, which is no secret ;-) )
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2015, 10:20 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Vegas Problem - Anyone help?

I have also encountered occasional issues with __________

fill in the blank.

such is life, and most certainly the foibles and idiosyncrasies of software / hardware ;-)
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2015, 12:59 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 2,205
Re: Vegas Problem - Anyone help?

Ha! Well quite!!

What I meant was 'similar issues', ie the flickering!
Ian Stark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2015, 12:19 PM   #10
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Vegas Problem - Anyone help?

One think you can do is click on "About" to open the Info dialog. On that screen, check the "Disable GPU" option and see if that resolves the issue.

If it does:

1. What version/build of split screen do you have installed?
2. What video card(s) do you have?
3. What video driver version(s) do you have?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2015, 06:29 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Wick
Posts: 69
Re: Vegas Problem - Anyone help?

Thanks for all your help - I figured out the problem.

I'm using NewBlue V3 Split Screen for the multi window shots. For some transitions I used the NewBlue V3 Split Screen - OpenFX plugin, this seemed to cause all the chaos. Not sure what the difference is between the two plugins are but it's all working now!
Ian Whelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2015, 01:03 AM   #12
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Re: Vegas Problem - Anyone help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Whelan View Post
. . . For some transitions I used the NewBlue V3 Split Screen - OpenFX plugin, this seemed to cause all the chaos. Not sure what the difference is between the two plugins are but it's all working now!
Ian, what Transitions? SONY? NewBlue? Please explain.

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2015, 09:19 AM   #13
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Re: Vegas Problem - Anyone help?

If you are seeing two effects with the same name (i.e. "NewBlue V3 Split Screen" vs "NewBlue V3 Split Screen - OpenFX"), that means you have installed both the older DirectX version as well as the newer OpenFX version.

Generally speaking, it is better to install and use only the OpenFX version. If you would contact NewBlue support, it would be good to figure out why you are having issues with the OpenFX version as it really is the preferred version today.

As I said yesterday, One thing you can do is click on "About" to open the Info dialog. On that screen, check the "Disable GPU" option and see if that resolves the issue.

If it does:

1. What version/build of split screen do you have installed?
2. What video card(s) do you have?
3. What video driver version(s) do you have?



You also mentioned Transitions. Split Screen is not a transition.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network