H.264 in Vegas 10 vs. 13 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 24th, 2015, 08:40 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
H.264 in Vegas 10 vs. 13

So, I'm trying to get the best render for more internet video, and Vegas 10 doesn't have H.264 out of the gate per se. So is 13 more flexible with internet renders for vimeo etc? I looked at the reviews and I noticed it may.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2015, 11:33 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Re: H.264 in Vegas 10 vs. 13

This method works great!!
Vegas-2-HandBrake

Here's a thread on the Sony Vegas forum where I first read about it.
One-click frameserving from Vegas to Handbrake
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2015, 12:41 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Re: H.264 in Vegas 10 vs. 13

Thanks Mike,


It looks like from the documentation that Vegas 10 is not completely supported or known if it's supported. I'm just trying to figure out if I should burn the 300.00 bucks to upgrade to 13.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2015, 12:54 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Re: H.264 in Vegas 10 vs. 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Davis View Post
... I'm just trying to figure out if I should burn the 300.00 bucks to upgrade to 13.
I have some work to do in Vegas 10 later, I'll post back about the available settings (an audio project, I have better audio plugins on v10 than later versions. Go Izotope Ozone!)

But I'd say *don't* burn $300 if this is the only concern.

a) If you're pursuing quality for Youtube, Vimeo, or similar, you can use the MainConcept MP4 and just throw more bitrate at it.

b) If you're pursuing quality for direct streaming of your files, you really should be creating an intermediate/master out of Vegas, and rendering in something else. Everything people claim about quality in the freeware Handbrake is true, and it's very useful for low-volume work. For high-volume needs, Sorenson Squeeze matches the quality of HB with more robust batching and a wider set of encoding filters. Not to dis Telestream Episode, I just don't know it that well.

HB does this trick very simply: It uses the best-in-class open-source tools x264 for the actual h.264 encode, Yadif deinterlacer, and Lanczos scalar.

There may be other reasons you'd want to upgrade to v13, but I don't think improvements in the h.264/MP4 encoder is one of them. But I'm back on v12, and may not know what I'm talking about.
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2015, 02:31 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Re: H.264 in Vegas 10 vs. 13

I just looked at the video rendering options in v10, and found what I expected.

MainConcept AVC - this is of the h.264/MP4/AVC familiy of codecs. It's an equivalent to h.264, though MainConcept's version isn't as good as the x264 version.

Sony AVC - same.

Do you find anything different in v13? Remember, you can download a 30-day trial and see if it provides anything better for you...
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2015, 03:21 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Re: H.264 in Vegas 10 vs. 13

Since I bought my canon XF300s, I've been recording in the 50mb mode, and I've had a fit trying to get the highest quality online, so that's why I wanted to know if I'm missing something. Once I get the video to Vimeo, it's crapped out, no matter what variation I try out of Vegas 10.

Hmm, I may download the trial of 13, that's a good idea Seth.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2015, 04:10 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Re: H.264 in Vegas 10 vs. 13

Well, it shouldn't crap out on Vimeo...

You're probably at 1080p? I'd try the MainConcept AVC, variable bitrate, min. 6,000,000, max 12,000,000 and see how that looks on Vimeo.

IIRC though Vimeo is downscaling to 720p display for HD? If I didn't find what I wanted with the settings above, I'd probably through it a 720p at 4Mbps/6Mbps and see if I like it any better.

When you see it in Vimeo HD there should be no compression artifacts. If you see differences in this between your renders and what Vimeo does that's worthy of followup. OTOH, if there are gamma/brightness/contrast/color differences there are some options in Vegas to explore.
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2015, 07:49 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Re: H.264 in Vegas 10 vs. 13

I'ts 1080i at 50mbps but I see your idea. I'll keep working at it.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2015, 08:25 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Re: H.264 in Vegas 10 vs. 13

Oooohhhh, 1080i.

I'd recc that you take control of the conversion from i to p, instead of leaving Vimeo to do it. That's definitely a place to look at your workflow.

This in fact would be a great place to use Handbrake - create a Master 1080i out of Vegas, then slurp it into Handbrake - use the *excellent* scalar and deinterlacer there to create a 720p, using their default "constant quality" setting (unless you're shooting sports or handheld...)

See what that looks like on Vimeo - I suspect a noticeable improvement!
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:49 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network