Firewire legacy driver at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 17th, 2017, 01:31 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,177
Firewire legacy driver

Hello, I am trying to download a firewire legacy driver onto my Dell so that I can connect my MiniDV deck to the computer. I am running windows 10. I did a Google search but every thing I tried there just led me to an advertisement where they wanted me to buy a package. I download the driver in the past, but never on this computer. Any suggestions? Bob
Bob Safay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2017, 03:05 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,376
Re: Firewire legacy driver

iirc, they're already in win 10, you just have to select them.
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2017, 11:13 PM   #3
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,544
Re: Firewire legacy driver

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leslie Wand View Post
iirc, they're already in win 10, you just have to select them.
Now, Leslie, play nicely. How does our chum select them? I'm not running W10 so I can't assist.
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2017, 11:45 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,376
Re: Firewire legacy driver

unfortunately i only ever used my firewire card once, almost immediately i'd installed 10. but iirc you do it through control panel and devices?

just a quick google brings up this:

https://www.studio1productions.com/A...Firewire-1.htm
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2017, 02:06 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Aberdeen Scotland
Posts: 624
Re: Firewire legacy driver

Found this. https://www.studio1productions.com/A...Firewire-1.htm
Donald McPherson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2017, 02:15 AM   #6
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,544
Re: Firewire legacy driver

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leslie Wand View Post
iirc, they're already in win 10, you just have to select them.
Looks like they were left out of w10. Nice find Donald.
Graham Bernard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2017, 04:12 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,177
Re: Firewire legacy driver

Here is the problem, I went into control panel, I went to device manager and clicked on IEEE Controller and tried to select the Legacy driver, it isn't one of the options listed. It seems that the only way I can get it is to pay for it.
Bob Safay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2017, 11:50 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Atlantic Coast Canada
Posts: 590
Re: Firewire legacy driver

I've given up on this very issue. Sorry I know its no help.
Ingest firewire with an older machine perhaps.
It's a bummer to be sure. I had invested heavily in a fire wire switcher and lotsa cables then overnight it was out the door. Firewire was a bit fussy but nice otherwise. Next thing on the chopping block will be hdmi after we've all spent a bundle on it. Never ends
Bruce Dempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2017, 05:03 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,376
Re: Firewire legacy driver

check out the link donald and i posted...
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2017, 12:13 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: LOWESTOFT - UK
Posts: 2,171
Re: Firewire legacy driver

Windows 10 does have the drivers for firewire devices, the issue is that they rarely work on old firewire kit. The legacy driver doesn't have to be the dell one as it's a very well known problem.
https://www.studio1productions.com/A...Firewire-1.htm

Windows 10 (and 8 in my experience) have the horrible habit of detecting the driver being used isn't the latest one, and on startup, they put back the latest one! I got really fed up doing this, so gave up on my newest machine and ingest material on an older one - then copy it across. It's a real pain.
Paul R Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2017, 01:13 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Re: Firewire legacy driver

I've had so much trouble with windows 10 I put both my work station and lap top back to original OS.
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2017, 10:02 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,177
Re: Firewire legacy driver

Dale, first I want to say how happy we all are about your sons recovery. Sounds like he is really going to be able to enjoy life.

Now, I got so frustrated trying to load the legacy driver that I opened the computer, took out the IEEE controller card and returned it to Microcenter. I figure I haven't used those old tapes in 5 years so if and when I want to upload and edit then I can worry about it then. I actually watched some of them and I am still amazed at the quality and color of my old Canon XL2.

Thanks for all your ideas. Bob
Bob Safay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2017, 09:22 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ventura, California, USA
Posts: 243
Re: Firewire legacy driver

Bob,
My primary editing computer is running Win 7, I have a Nikon slide scanner and the latest OS supporting it is Win XP. I went to our local thrift store and found a desktop computer that looked pretty clean, so I bought it for $15. Got home and turned it on and it had Linux on it. The processor was a P4 and it had (2) 500Gb hard drives. I loaded Win XP no problem. I also took my firewire card and installed in in the XP computer, which is for my Sony DV/HDV deck. I had Vegas Movie Studio 10, installed it and it recognized the firewire card and deck. When I capture from tape, I just put it on a thumb drive and move it to the Win 7 computer for editing. The Nikon scanner is SCSI, so not a problem. A cheap fix.
__________________
Don DesJardin
Don DesJardin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:29 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network