Can I upres video in Vegas? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 28th, 2018, 12:14 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, CT (Home of EPSN)
Posts: 1,187
Can I upres video in Vegas?

I have some SD video that I'd like to up-convert to HD. I know that After Effects provides this capability buy I'm much more comfortable using Vegas if it's possible. Thanks.
__________________
Paul Cascio
www.pictureframingschool.com
Paul Cascio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2018, 01:25 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,888
Re: Can I upres video in Vegas?

Short answer is yes. Just put it on an HD timeline and stretch it to fit. However, no matter what you use, it won't be "HD" video - it will be stretched SD video.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2018, 02:19 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, CT (Home of EPSN)
Posts: 1,187
Re: Can I upres video in Vegas?

Ed, thanks for your prompt reply. How will the quality compare to using AE?
__________________
Paul Cascio
www.pictureframingschool.com
Paul Cascio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2018, 03:49 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Veenendaal, Holland
Posts: 221
Re: Can I upres video in Vegas?

Please remind, that what is not there can not be realised. It will never be HD. Unless you are able to use scientific tools to render it to a higher grade.
Jo Ouwejan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2018, 04:11 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Navajo County, Arizona
Posts: 97
Re: Can I upres video in Vegas?

Hi Paul,

You may want to consider downloading the free public beta of Happy Otter scripting tools from 'Tools4Vegas' and try the Render+ feature. It is an extension used from within Vegas Pro. You can try various methods of uprezing your SD that make for an improvement. You may want to go to 1280x720 first and if you are not putting it back on a DVD/BL, he also has some nice deinterlace tools in his interface as well. Here is the link: https://tools4vegas.com/home/
__________________
Best Regards.....George
George Dean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2019, 06:16 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woking, England
Posts: 116
Re: Can I upres video in Vegas?

Bear in mind that most of the later DVD and Blue Ray Players will do a noticeable degree of uprezing on their own (i.e. automatically). It will never reach true HD quality though.

Richard
Richard Jones is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2019 The Digital Video Information Network