Networking for Vegas 6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 5th, 2005, 12:40 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 277
Networking for Vegas 6

Okay. So the computer geek is finally tired. I just can't play these games any more. I have to ask a question, because problem solving doesn't thrill me as much as it used to.

I finally have another computer and I want to do network renders. One is a laptop, the other, my normal desktop. Both are XP (one Pro, one home) and both are fully outfitted.

What is the best/fastest way to network them. Ethernet cable (if so, how) wireless (if so, must be ad hoc, as I have to router) or perhaps a usb 2.0 connection.

What do you all think? Oh, and a brief explanation of the rudimentary elements of making the network render work.

This should be a heavenly question for a computer nerd who still has the energy to deal with the little silicon beasts.
DJ Kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2005, 01:49 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: World Wide Web
Posts: 26
For two computers only you do not need router, switch, hub or another network device - You can connect computers with a "crossover" cable. After plug cable in to two computers you need adjust them Ethernet controllers on TCP/IP protocol
Why Ethernet it is better, because this most stable connection.
For network rendering you need network licens (One serial number for Vegas with a various activation codes)

PS Sorry 4 my English
__________________
Вы хочите фильмов, их есть у меня
Newdjeen Klime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2005, 01:08 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 277
That's O.K. I got the gist of it. Thanks! Basically you're saying an ethernet crossover cable between the two computers and creating a network link will automatically connect them for Vegas.

Does anyone do this? Is it a wonderful boost in speed?
DJ Kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2005, 01:17 PM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
First of all, not all formats can be network rendered. And for those that can, the benefits are project dependent. If the project has lots of effects, network rendering can help. If you only have a few dissolves here and there, you probably won't see much benefit. So it's really hard to say how much benefit YOU would get from it until you try it with your projects.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2005, 02:29 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 277
O.K. Thanks. So it doesn't just chop up the workload and distribute the pieces? Say, for rendering a bunch of clips and cuts to a DVDA mpeg.

Because in an ideal world, I was thinking (simplistically) that half the project would be done with one system, the other half on another, assemble and spit out. I guess that's not the case.
DJ Kinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2005, 03:00 PM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
MPEG2 is one of the formats where a single file CANNOT be rendered in pieces on multiple machines. The problem is the stitching point at the end - MPEG2 can't be stitched. However, you COULD use network rendering to set the various machines to individually render separate complete files.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 02:51 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
whoa, i didn't know that. i thought MPEG2 could. =). thx Ed.

another question. does this mean all other codex other than MPEG2 can be networked? if not, which ones are and which ones aren't? use the shortest list =).
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 03:18 PM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You CAN use network rendering to tell another computer on the network to render the file to MPEG2. However, you do not want MULTIPLE computers rendering a single video to MPEG2. See here for more details:
http://www.sonymediasoftware.com/for...ssageID=277103


Here's some interesting info:
http://www.sonymediasoftware.com/for...ssageID=371431
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 10:13 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
thx4link =).
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:06 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network