Wierd Problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 19th, 2005, 05:18 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 103
Wierd Problem

When I render a cineform AVI to mpg2 and play the rendered file back, no audio comes through. What gives?
__________________
AMD Athalon 2800 (2.08ghz) running Windows XP sp2
1GB of RAM Vegas 6.0 NLE 300+ GB hard drive space
running SATA RAID 0 With an NVIDEA Geforce FX 5600XT
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/search.php?searchid=149990
Kevin Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2005, 06:12 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Red
When I render a cineform AVI to mpg2 and play the rendered file back, no audio comes through. What gives?
Check the 'Custom' settings for the MPEG2 template... You may find that the "include audio" checkbox is unticked...

Also have a look (run 'search' if you have too) for a *.mpa which'll be the audio.

If you have that, then you can load both the video and the audio into your DVD authoring app, and write your DVD.

I am assuming (correct me if I'm wrong) that you want to write a DVD from the MPEG2...
Steve Crisdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2005, 02:48 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 103
The Custom button doesn't work.
Couldn't find any .mpa's
__________________
AMD Athalon 2800 (2.08ghz) running Windows XP sp2
1GB of RAM Vegas 6.0 NLE 300+ GB hard drive space
running SATA RAID 0 With an NVIDEA Geforce FX 5600XT
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/search.php?searchid=149990
Kevin Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2005, 06:58 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Red
The Custom button doesn't work.
Couldn't find any .mpa's
Hmmm.

You have the project saved, and all the original files still available?

If so... open the Vegas project. Go to "Render As", then select Mainconcept MPEG2 as the format type from the "Save as Type" drop-down list.

Then select the template from the template drop-down list... you know, DVD Architect 24p NTSC WS, or PAL DVD video stream... etc, etc (I'm sure you know which template is the right one for you)

Then click the "Custom" button. Things to look for in the Custom settings:
a) Project tab - Video rendering quality > set to "BEST"
b) Video tab - make sure the bit rate is not some stupidly low number, and that all settings look 'right'... change if required.
c) Advanced Video tab - Play with at your own discretion, but "Allow field Based motion compensation" is worth checking.
d) Audio tab - Tick the "Include Audo Stream" check box. Set the available options for whatever your sound will be... you know, stereo for stereo, dual channel for Dolby 5.1, bit rates etc.
e) System tab - hopefully these options are self explanatory...

Once it's all set, just click "OK"... then save the render.

Hope that helps... other than that though - I'm not sure why the audio would be missing. If there's audio in the CFHD AVI, and you can hear it (which means your speakers are working), and there's a visible waveform showing on the Audio track in Vegas's timeline (just check that there's audio info on the Audio track... if necessary boost the master volume) you have a problem I've not encountered.
Steve Crisdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2005, 08:49 PM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Red
The Custom button doesn't work.
MPEG Custom button does not work
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 02:37 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel
And the thought went through my mind that he may not have DVD Architect installed...
Steve Crisdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 08:10 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
The MPEG2 encoder is included in Vegas so the custom button should work even if DVDA has not been installed. It's just that if you don't have DVDA installed, the MPEG2 encoder must be registered separately.

The Custom button not working has been a fairly common issue, though.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 02:46 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 103
I got the button working. No luck yet.
__________________
AMD Athalon 2800 (2.08ghz) running Windows XP sp2
1GB of RAM Vegas 6.0 NLE 300+ GB hard drive space
running SATA RAID 0 With an NVIDEA Geforce FX 5600XT
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/search.php?searchid=149990
Kevin Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 02:49 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 103
AH! I found it.
After Custom, and under system, theres a box for saving the file as seperate audio and video files. This was checked. Seems pretty straight forward. Should work now.
Thanks guys.
-Kevin
__________________
AMD Athalon 2800 (2.08ghz) running Windows XP sp2
1GB of RAM Vegas 6.0 NLE 300+ GB hard drive space
running SATA RAID 0 With an NVIDEA Geforce FX 5600XT
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/search.php?searchid=149990
Kevin Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2005, 05:12 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Katoomba NSW Australia
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Red
AH! I found it.
After Custom, and under system, theres a box for saving the file as seperate audio and video files. This was checked. Seems pretty straight forward. Should work now.
Thanks guys.
-Kevin
Good to hear!!

Just remember for the absolute best results, that 2 pass Variable Bit Rate is the go. The default max, min and av settings are all too low. DVD max bitrate is approx 9.3Mbit, so anything close to that is good. Bump the minimum bitrate up to something around the 5-6Mbit mark and set your average in between the new max and min.

The idea is to get a balance of size to quality.

Don't forget to check those settings every time you do a render (if you haven't saved the adjusted template as something appropriate that is!!), otherwise the problem will keep on happening...
Steve Crisdale is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network