How do I switch from PP to Veg, mid-project at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 12th, 2006, 08:41 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, CT (Home of EPSN)
Posts: 1,182
How do I switch from PP to Veg, mid-project

I have a project that was started in Premiere, but I drank the orange Kool-Aid and now want to transfer everything to Vegas.

All of the rough cuts are on the time line in PP, but no transtions have be added yet so I figure it shouldn't be too tough. What would the best workflow be to make the switch?

Thanks
__________________
Paul Cascio
www.pictureframingschool.com
Paul Cascio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2006, 08:58 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Cascio
What would the best workflow be to make the switch?
One way to do it would be a "print to tape" of your PP timeline, import this into Vegas and continue on. The drawback here is that you wouldn't be able to make any changes to the PP footage so make sure that your rough cut has some heads & tails (extra footage) on each clip, just in case.

Mike
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2006, 09:18 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, CT (Home of EPSN)
Posts: 1,182
I was hoping for an import option

I was hoping for an import option
__________________
Paul Cascio
www.pictureframingschool.com
Paul Cascio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2006, 09:55 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Sorry Paul but AFAIK Vegas, like a lot of low end NLEs) is kind of weak as far as importing and exporting EDLs is concerned.
I have no idea if PP has and EDL export (I think straight text is preferred) but, what the heck, it's worth a try.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2006, 01:30 AM   #5
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Normally the advice is don't. Do not convert / upgrade or change anything
during a project. To make sure you can finish it on time. This is of course
most important if there is money and deadlines involved. If it is just your
personal project then it may be an option. However, it'll still cost you lots
of time probably. If there aren't that many cuts perhaps you can simply
redo them?

Good luck!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2006, 01:46 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
with the latest versions of both programs, try AAF export/import? Or XML? Or EDL?
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2006, 09:00 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Just try all of the methods above noting the limitations. AAF is supposed to be the best method to try. However, I'd try the others as well if AAF doesn't work. Worst case is the print to tape/recapture method.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2006, 11:07 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 230
I agree with the above.
When moving projects into and out of Vegas, I found AAF to be the most reliable.
Matt Brabender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2006, 11:11 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Why would you print to tape, just render(export) and import
Larry Sullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2006, 07:03 AM   #10
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Sullivan
Why would you print to tape, just render(export) and import
You would import the EDITED video into Vegas for additional editing. However, all "current" edits would no longer be easily changed (which I am assuming is NOT what you want). Definitely the LAST option to use.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2006, 07:56 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bristol, CT
Posts: 20
Can Premiere render an individual clip as an .avi? If so, you could render each clip as an .avi and then import them into Vegas in the same order, although this would probably be extremely time consuming, especially if it's a longer project.
Elton Wishart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2006, 12:45 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bristol, CT (Home of EPSN)
Posts: 1,182
Good ideas, thanks

I'm going to try AAf. Elstons idea is also good. I want to preserve the individuality of the clips since I don't have transitions in yet.
__________________
Paul Cascio
www.pictureframingschool.com
Paul Cascio is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network