Vegas Video discussions from 2003 - Page 108 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 27th, 2003, 02:36 AM   #1606
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 34
Two clip together?

The last but one videoclip and the last videoclip I will have together. (The last but one videoclip is a clip from nature and the last videoclip is a rolling text.)

How do I do that?
__________________
"The artist is nothing without the gift, but the gift is nothing without work."
Torsten Blomfeldt is offline  
Old November 27th, 2003, 03:03 AM   #1607
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Torsten, can you describe this in another way? I'm finding it a bit difficult to get my head around what you are asking. . . maybe just me . . have another go . . I'm listening.

Regards,

Grazie

ps - I wish I spoke your language - sorry :-(
Graham Bernard is offline  
Old November 27th, 2003, 07:22 AM   #1608
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Put the video on track TWO and the title on track ONE.

For the title, use one of the checkerboard backgrounds and the video will show through with the title above it.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 27th, 2003, 08:25 AM   #1609
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 34
Good, one thing left....

Edward: "For the title, use one of the checkerboard backgrounds and the video will show through with the title above it."

Well I did what you say but use "Text" instead of "checkerboard" (because checkerboard didn't work).

And now I have the text om my last videoclip. Good! One thing is left: How do I get the text rolling?

........................................

(And Graham, yes I know that my English is awful, I am sorry.)
__________________
"The artist is nothing without the gift, but the gift is nothing without work."
Torsten Blomfeldt is offline  
Old November 27th, 2003, 08:33 AM   #1610
Old Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London UK
Posts: 3,528
Ah . . now all is . . well, Transparent!!

OKay, now I understand . .Ed, thanks for picking up with baton and running with this one.

Torsten, when Ed says "Chequer Board", he doesn't mean the "solid" background CB - I know, it's sounds contradictory . . but the CB in the Generated Media is like . . well, an opaque design. The OTHER CB is that which shows tranparent. Chequers on the Text media shows transparent, and THIER chequers just infomr the editor that the background IS transparent. CB on the solid media WILL be opaque. I would think this is why you aren't getting any success at th moment - yeah?

. . not to worry, you'll get there ;-) . . .this confused when I was starting in VideoFactory.

BEst regards,

Grazie
Graham Bernard is offline  
Old November 27th, 2003, 01:07 PM   #1611
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
To get it to scroll, use the "credit roll" preset.

OR, you can use the "positioning" tab on the text media and use two keyframes: The first keyframe with it off the bottom and the second keyframe with it off the top.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 27th, 2003, 03:00 PM   #1612
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 34
Thanks

Thanks Edward, I used the credit roll and it was fine!

(I haven't yet learned to use "key frames", but I will soon reed of it to try to understand it.)
__________________
"The artist is nothing without the gift, but the gift is nothing without work."
Torsten Blomfeldt is offline  
Old November 28th, 2003, 08:55 AM   #1613
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 196
Thanks Peter.
Dan Measel is offline  
Old November 28th, 2003, 11:53 AM   #1614
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 34
amazing

I just discovered an amazing effect.

Video FX - Sharpen - Heavy.

When I inserted that to a videoclip I was stunned. I was before thinking that my Canon XM2 were given very sharp video, but this effect really shaken me. I didn't thought a videoprogram could sharpen videoclip so brilliant.

How could a program do such a marvelous thing?

And is it a good idea to have that effect to all the film? (I have a nature film.)

I have not yet seen how this effect looks in TV, only in Video Preview, and that is amazing.

When do you use that effect?
__________________
"The artist is nothing without the gift, but the gift is nothing without work."
Torsten Blomfeldt is offline  
Old November 28th, 2003, 02:46 PM   #1615
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I would definitely check it on an external monitor. Often things look different on the preview window than on a standard TV.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 28th, 2003, 05:51 PM   #1616
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Two queries: fonts and audio

Okay, first:

I had an audio clip to which I wanted to add reverb, or an echo effect. For some reason, absolutely did nothing, no matter which settings I tried. I used the "apply non-realtime effects" option to a single audio clip. After the new clip was created ("blah blah blah Take 2" or whatever it was called), still no difference. Is there some trick to getting delay/reverb/echo effects working?

Next:

A lot of the time, when I try different fonts for titling, in the preview window in Vegas, they'll look exactly the same, even if it' supposed to be a Cursive type font. However, in the window (dialogue box?) where you select the fonts themselves, size, etc., it'll look correct. Why is this? I recently lost a hard drive for no apparent reason, and with it went microsoft word. Do I not have these fonts anymore, even though they're selectable in Vegas?
Josh Bass is offline  
Old November 28th, 2003, 06:24 PM   #1617
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I think I'd try reinstalling Vegas. I haven't had a problem in either of these areas.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 28th, 2003, 11:11 PM   #1618
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Captuing fro Sony TRV-8

I bought a TRV-8 at a pawn shop to use as a deck (to save wear and tear on my XL-1s). But when I try to capture in Vegas from it, Vegas doesn't see the device. What am I doing wrong? It sees my XL-1s just fine.

Danka.
 
Old November 28th, 2003, 11:36 PM   #1619
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Ah. . man. . .you're killin' me.
Josh Bass is offline  
Old November 29th, 2003, 12:01 AM   #1620
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Those filters do the opposite of blur. It doesn't do the exact reverse of what your camera is doing but should do a pretty good job of making footage a lot sharper. If you do it too much your edges will look weird. They'll have something like halos around them.

Make sure you check it on a TV. Your TV has a setting for sharpness, which kinda does the same thing as the sharpness filter. Feed it a perfect image from another source (i.e. digital picture) to adjust the sharpness setting on the TV.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:19 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network