Vegas Video discussions from 2003 - Page 109 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 30th, 2003, 01:08 PM   #1621
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 172
Vegas movies will not work with frontpage

I've been trying to add videos from Vegas to MS frontpage but for some reason they do not want to play. I tried rendering as AVI, MOV, MPEG and none work. However, when i render a movie in premiere and drag it into FrontPage, it works perfectly. Does anyone know what this can be?? Thanks!
Dan Lahav is offline  
Old November 30th, 2003, 06:27 PM   #1622
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Hmmm this worries me. I'm going to be doing video web work for a guy and he's using Front Page. Hmmm.

What template are you using? Are you making "any" changes to them?
Glen Elliott is offline  
Old November 30th, 2003, 08:59 PM   #1623
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Have you tried WMV?

For the others, compare settings. Make sure you use the same settings in Vegas you are in Premiere. Vegas produces perfectly good files. I don't use Front Page but have no problems using files generated by Vegas on my web page.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 30th, 2003, 09:30 PM   #1624
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lino Lakes, MN
Posts: 1
I use Frontpage 2002 and have not encountered this problem at all. As such, I cannot help Dan with his problem but can reassure Glen that it does work and this may just be an isolated incident.
Matt Iserman is offline  
Old November 30th, 2003, 09:38 PM   #1625
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 172
i figured out that i needed to use a script in order to put *.mov in frontpage. Thanks anyways guys!
Dan Lahav is offline  
Old December 1st, 2003, 06:38 AM   #1626
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
Vertical Smears on DVAVI after render

Hey all, just wondering if anyone has had issues with this:

I recently did a few different variations and after reprocessing (and rendering to raw dv avi) I have noticed some degredation in the footage, which is quite prominent..

Now it's more noticable on material which i converted FROM mpg to avi, however there is SOME on the raw AVI's.

Any ideas as to what would be a good setting to reduce these vertical lines???

They look like scanlines, however they're vertical...

By the way, im in PAL land if that makes any difference....
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old December 1st, 2003, 08:32 AM   #1627
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Can you show us a sample (before, after, what was done besides just rendering - i.e. any effects applied)?
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old December 1st, 2003, 04:06 PM   #1628
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Poplarville, MS
Posts: 453
Edward: You brought up something interesting. I am trying
to output a short animation with multiple audio tracks (stereo
2.0 and Dolby 5.1), using DVD Architect. The animation may
be short enough to include the audio twice, but then how do
I set it up to switch between the different tracks?


Thanks!
Frank Ladner is offline  
Old December 1st, 2003, 08:38 PM   #1629
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You would include the entire video twice and provide two buttons on the menu - one for one audio track and one for the other.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old December 2nd, 2003, 04:00 AM   #1630
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,483
Stills

How is Vegas in it's output of frame grabs from interlaced footage?
I'v made some stills. I know to set it to "full/best". Is it really necessary to also change the properties setting to "interpolate" for best results, or are all stills interpolated regardless?
Anyone noticed any quality improvement using PNG over JPG?
Haven't noticed any difference myself.
Any other hints for best results?
Dave Largent is offline  
Old December 2nd, 2003, 07:22 AM   #1631
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Poplarville, MS
Posts: 453
Edward: Thanks! I see what you mean now.

On the DVDs where you can go to options, even while the
movie is playing, and switch the sound between 2.0 and 5.1,
how is that accomplished? This is something that I maybe
could not do with DVD Architect, but I was curious about how
the pros do it.


Thanks!
Frank Ladner is offline  
Old December 2nd, 2003, 09:09 AM   #1632
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Probably your best solution would be to use one of the scripts that output images. They generally change all of the settings necessary for the best possible output and then reset the settings back to the original settings upon completion. There are several different versions available.

As for the format, JPG is lossy - PNG is not. So, PNG should be better. However, if you're happy with the JPG's, use them (I'm ususally happy with the JPGs.)

Having said all of the above, I usually just change to BEST - FULL, click on the save picture button, and save as JPG's.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old December 2nd, 2003, 09:12 AM   #1633
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
That would require an authoring program that allowed true multiple audio tracks. There may also be other requirements above even that. I'm sure the DVDs with this capability were NOT created with a $200 authoring program - probably more like $20,000!
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old December 2nd, 2003, 09:18 AM   #1634
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Poplarville, MS
Posts: 453
I guess that's about right. I figured Adobe Encore would
be able to do it, but I haven't tried it, and I haven't heard
too very much about it. (It is only the first version, though.)
So it looks like duplicate movies then.

Thanks for your help, Edward!
Frank Ladner is offline  
Old December 2nd, 2003, 10:00 AM   #1635
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
some colour correction was applied, but not enough to be that noticable...

thing is it also happens on non affected files...

i THINK it may be because the clip i was looking at was converted to MPG2, then reconverted back to avi... but ive done that before and have ever seen this...
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network