Vegas Video discussions from 2003 - Page 16 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 22nd, 2003, 03:49 PM   #226
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Type in a letter, press enter. Type in a letter, press enter.

Or am I missing something?
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old April 22nd, 2003, 05:25 PM   #227
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 70
LOL Yep, I'm a f'n idiot. Thanks,


Michael
Michael Botkin is offline  
Old April 22nd, 2003, 05:35 PM   #228
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bemidji, MN
Posts: 276
Thanks! You all brightened up my day.
__________________
"DOH"!!!
Harry Settle is offline  
Old April 22nd, 2003, 08:31 PM   #229
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 196
Question about inserting a scene in Vegas timeline

I have a project with multiple layers of video during some scenes and layers of audio (sound effects) in others. I want to insert a new event in the middle. Is there a button to select where I can insert the event and all of the following events (on all layers) will move to the right accordingly? So far when I try it just crossfades the clip onto the current video events. There are way too many events to manually move them and more than I want to click on to make one big "group".

Anyone know how to do this?
Dan Measel is offline  
Old April 22nd, 2003, 08:43 PM   #230
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Put the cursor where you want to insert the clip, choose TIME from the INSERT menu and enter the length of the clip.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old April 22nd, 2003, 10:22 PM   #231
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 155
turn on auto-ripple its the icon at the top with an arrow inbetween two boxes
__________________
Trey Perrone

Trey Perrone is offline  
Old April 23rd, 2003, 08:03 AM   #232
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Aaron,

What settings did you use in their mpeg2 encoder?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old April 23rd, 2003, 08:48 AM   #233
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
You can also untangle any program stream (that includes video
AND audio) into their elementary streams by using a demuxer.
Such tools can be easily found on the web these days.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old April 23rd, 2003, 10:08 AM   #234
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 70
Cpturing Frame Mode footage in Vegas 4

I shoot everything in Frame mode on my GL2. When picking my project settings in Vegas 4, is it best to turn the "deinterlace" option to None/Blend/Interpolate? Since the GL2 shoots "frame" mode by copying the image on each line, I shouldn't need to deinterlace correct? Let me know what your experiences have been, or if this even matters vs. shooting in "Normal" mode and using the default setting "Blend".

Michael Botkin
Michael Botkin is offline  
Old April 23rd, 2003, 10:28 AM   #235
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
It should be None since there is nothing to deinterlace.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old April 23rd, 2003, 01:13 PM   #236
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 70
Well,
Those are great tools, but I'm still unable to get rid of the hum completely. I'll play around with a combination of filters and that should do it. I figured out that it's not just a quiet 60hz hum, it's really solid noise from the airconditioning system I believe. Vegas has some great tools, and they seem to be very simple to use well. Thanks again,

Michael Botkin
Michael Botkin is offline  
Old April 24th, 2003, 05:08 AM   #237
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Luleň, Sweden
Posts: 37
thanks Richard and Graham!
__________________
Fredrik, Sweden "Please excuse my english!"
Fredrik Forsell is offline  
Old April 24th, 2003, 09:35 AM   #238
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 148
Another tool to use if you have it is Sound Forge. Even if you still use the track effects in Vegas to make the final filtering, I'll take a section of noisy track into Sound Forge just to run the Spectrum Analysis on it. In a case like yours, it'll show where the spectral peaks are, so you can identify where the filters should be applied. Then sometimes I do the edits in sound forge, and sometimes I'll just drop back into vegas and apply things there.
Brian M. Dickman is offline  
Old April 24th, 2003, 10:38 PM   #239
Hawaiian Shirt Mogul
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: northern cailfornia
Posts: 1,261
michael ...
i'll take a look at the hummmm . if you like email me a 15-20 sec wave only clip include humm and voice . render it out as wave at 16bit/48K ..

i'll take a look at it and if i can get rid of hummm i'll email you the Vegas Veg file.

be sure to keep copy of wave for yourself as the return VEG will ask you for it. ...
Don Donatello is offline  
Old April 25th, 2003, 02:58 AM   #240
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
Vegas 4 queries

Anyway, I was putting something together in Vegas, and I letterboxed it by blacking off the appropriate portions of the screen. Since I didn't have the forethought to shoot for this framing, I had to move the picture up or down to get the desired framing, using the 3d plugin pac le plug-in. When I rendered this whole thing into a single AVI file, all the clips that I had reframed had a jittery, stuttery look to them, as far as movement was concerned. The other clips looked like regular 60i video. Anyone know why this happened? Anyone know what I could do about it? Without the letterbox, it looks less artsy, and of course being 30fps doesn't help.

Just tried the method in Vegas for converting interlaced video to 24p. It works! It rules! It's free!
Josh Bass is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network