Vegas Video discussions from 2003 - Page 37 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 11th, 2003, 10:42 AM   #541
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
Adam...just read your post...i don't do any PAL conversions, so, can't answer your q's. hopefully someone else will know.
Bill Ravens is offline  
Old July 11th, 2003, 02:16 PM   #542
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
AISO is a better audio standard to communicate with your
soundcard. But you must have a soundcard with AISO drivers
(installed) for this to work. Which you probably don't (usually
the more expensive cards have these drivers).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old July 11th, 2003, 02:33 PM   #543
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
If you can change some settings on the AG fiddle with those.
What is that "passive" thing?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old July 12th, 2003, 03:57 PM   #544
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
question about vegas

I am trying to use my television as an external monitor using Vegas 3.0. I have never had a problem with it before, but all of the sudden the video won't play on my television. The connnections from my computer to the camcorder to the television are all secure. Does anyone know what the problem could be?

Thanks
DVGuru@aol.com
Dennis Turkmen is offline  
Old July 12th, 2003, 05:22 PM   #545
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If everything is exactly the same as before and it always worked before, what changed?

Did you instal any new software?
Did you boot up in a different sequence?

Something HAS to be different. Even if it is a firewire card or cable that has gone bad. Try a different cable. Try a different card. Try a different power-up boot sequence...
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old July 12th, 2003, 06:47 PM   #546
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Try to narrow down the problem:

1. Can you see the video on the monitor by just playing back the tape in the camcorder?

2. Check the input mode on the monitor, maybe it's something simple like you're looking at VIDEO 2 instead of VIDEO 2.

3. Can you view the video in Vegas using the camcorder's LCD?
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old July 12th, 2003, 08:08 PM   #547
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13
1. Yes

2. My television only has Video 1. I also checked the setting on the camcorder. It's set to Video 1.

3. Yes
Dennis Turkmen is offline  
Old July 13th, 2003, 05:01 PM   #548
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Perhaps it's a setting in Vegas. Maybe you accidentally turned off the external preview button?

Might also want to ask here: DMN Forums
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old July 13th, 2003, 09:04 PM   #549
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Arlington VA
Posts: 1,034
Actually it seems to be happening even with files smaller than 4 GB. It's happening on one of my files that's about 2 GB. It's uncompressed.

I'll try sacving as QuickTime uncompressed and see if that'll pick it up.
Peter Moore is offline  
Old July 13th, 2003, 11:47 PM   #550
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 158
Blurred edges with Vegas 4.0?

I've been trying to figure out if Vegas will allow me to blur the edges of the video. Or do a blurred letter box. Does anyone know if this is possible with Vegas 4.0?
__________________
Best Regards,
Mark T. Monciardini
Riverlight Studios
www.riverlightstudios.com
DVX100/Final Cut Pro 4/Mac G5 Dual 1.8
Mark Monciardini is offline  
Old July 13th, 2003, 11:52 PM   #551
High School Student
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canton, Ohio, USA
Posts: 609
Yup, use the "cookie cutter" or "border" video effect.
Alex Knappenberger is offline  
Old July 14th, 2003, 04:36 AM   #552
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stavanger, Norway
Posts: 265
Vegas acknowledged

The sub heading for this forum is Discussing DV editing with Canopus, Matrox, Pinnacle, Premiere and more.
I've been following it for a while and I think that Vegas ought to be mentioned, seeing how often it comes up in the threads. It's always nice to have one's own tools recognised by others, but more important: a passer by with an interest in Vegas might simply do that: pass by.
Tor Salomonsen is offline  
Old July 14th, 2003, 04:44 AM   #553
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Good point! I've sent it to the approriate "authorities" <g>
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old July 14th, 2003, 06:58 AM   #554
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I suggest you get Scenalyzer (the old free one) from here.

This might be able to convert it into a more compatible AVI file
that Vegas can read while you wait for the 4.0d update.

Dennis do you know if Grouping is going to be accesable to
scripting in 4.0d? I wrote a script to handle the Lady X episodes
we are managing and the only thing I can't do is group the
audio & video events after I added them to the project.

I know I can do this manually (which I do for now) but would
be some much better if I can do it through scripting.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old July 14th, 2003, 07:20 AM   #555
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 123
Rob:

I don't know that answer to that. Please post in the Vegas scripting forum, and Paul will have an answer for you.

Sincerely,

///d@
Dennis Adams is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network