Vegas Video discussions from 2003 - Page 68 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 10th, 2003, 03:34 AM   #1006
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Perhaps this thread and this thread
might be of some use. Although you've probably already seen them.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 03:46 AM   #1007
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Quote:
The reason Nero doesnt like Architect files is that Architect and nero run 2 different disc file systems
If that would be the case then your disc will never ever play on
any settop DVD player. DVD's require to be in UDF file system
with certain sector sizes. It is even pre-determined on what
sector EACH FILE starts.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 05:58 AM   #1008
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
Maybe i wasn't too accurate with my meaning Rob

Some authoring apps keep the file system as a straightforward VOB splits which are stored in the Video-TS folder. (DVD-A style and most commercially available dvd's)

Others keep the audio in the Audio-TS folder while splitting the m2v file and using a different index system (IFO-edit style)
From memory (i haven't done a dvd rip for ages) this is the older file system I THINK... vcdhelp would have more info on this though...

DVD-A keeps it as simple as possible being the first type mentioned.

My actual comment was innacurate i'm afraid, it's not the file system in general but the indexing of the files once prepared in DVDarchitect.
My mistake and we've gone completely off topic.. sorry!!
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 08:55 AM   #1009
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 35
Thanks all

Thanks all!! Works perfectly!
__________________
jinghong
Jinghong Chua is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 09:05 AM   #1010
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
There probably are small errors but so far I can't see any differences. I'll re-post if I run into any issues with compositing the effects in Vegas.

Thankfully, muzzle shots, light sabers, plasma bolts, and magical incantations don't have to be pixel perfect, just close enough.

I'm guessing?? that compositing the effects with the original video in Vegas saves me one generation of rendering?
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 10:48 AM   #1011
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I must say that I've never ever seen the AUDIO_TS directory
being used on any of my commercial DVD's I have here (over
a 100). Only VIDEO_TS is used with VOB's, IFO's and backups
of IFO's.

Are you perhaps referring to a flat file structure with VOB & IFO
files or an actual disc image?

According to the DVD-FAQ

Quote:
since the DVD-Audio specification includes new formats and features, with content stored in a separate "DVD-Audio zone" on the disc (the AUDIO_TS directory)
This says it is for DVD-Audio discs and not for storage of Audio
elements that are needed for a DVD-Video

I'm so sure we've gone off-topic since we are trying to discuss
why the DVD-Architect way might be different and thus cause
"problems" with other applications.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 11:00 AM   #1012
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
If you use a lossy compression format inbetween normally, then
yes, you've saved a generation. If you use a lossless codec or
uncompressed it is the same.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 11:17 AM   #1013
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
well, its been a while since i delved into the IFOEdit side if things now that DVD Authoring has taken off and its all done with dedicated authoring apps...
and i agree we have gone off topic, but I TOTALLY agree with your comments about
"I'm so sure we've gone off-topic since we are trying to discuss
why the DVD-Architect way might be different and thus cause
"problems" with other applications."

I guess its up to SoFo to fix....
heres hoping
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 11:30 AM   #1014
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Oxford, PA
Posts: 44
I won't be messing around with my video anytime soon, my computer took a dump yesterday!

I know this is a bit off topic, but maybe you guys have experienced something like this.

Earlier this year I was on the computer and the screen went black. The monitor posted a message like-"check pc and connection. monitor working properly" I turned the computer off, checked all of my connections, turned the computer back on-nothing. the computer was getting power, it lights up, fan runs, but when I turn it on-no beep, blank monitor. It was dead for 2 or 3 days, then I turned it on and it beeped, fired up and worked fine.

It worked great for a couple months. Then all of a sudden, screen went blank. same thing. This time I stuck my hard drives in my daughters computer and they were fine. I hooked my daughters computer up to my monitor and it worked fine. So I figured it has to be the mother board or processor right? The second time it was dead for 5 or 6 days, then one day it started fine and worked ever since. that was the first week of june, so it's been just over two months and the darn thing did it again!

Sounds like it's time for a new computer huh?

Oh, it's a Mitsuba? 1 ghz Amd Athlon.

I guess I could just replace the motherboard or processor if I knew exactly what it was.
Adam VanScoyoc is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 11:38 AM   #1015
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I was wondering the same so I tested this. At first I just thought
you were able to copy a single column or line. But if you click the
block between 'Track' and '1' it selects the whole sheet for you.
Hit CTRL+C (or right-click and choose copy) and then you can paste
that into a text-editor or better yet in a spreadsheet program
like Mirosoft Excel. Worked like a charm!

It even pasted it correctly on each column and row so that you
can really use it or export it out as something like a comma
seperated file.

Neat.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 11:46 AM   #1016
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Forest Grove, OR
Posts: 122
From what I understand, there are two ways to use it.

One way is to just select one of the presets from the pull down menu (i.e. 'default for fast computers'). You right click the audio clip, select apply non-realtime FX, pick the noise reduction plug in, and then you get the setup window. Choose one of the presets and apply it to the audio. You can preview it with the checkbox on/off and the mini play button in the upper corner.

The other way to use it is two pass; you 'analyze' part of the clip (I think there are buttons/sliders/etc for doing this) and then the noise reduction may be more efficient at removing that specific noise (you analyze part of the clip where the noise is isolated, i.e. a 'silent' part) when you apply the effect. This option is probably better if your noise is strange, i.e. not just tape/electrical hiss.

I think when you apply the non-realtime effect, it makes a copy of the audio track and applies the effect to it, and replaces the original audio on the timeline with the new clip.

If you apply the effect by opening the audio in soundforge, you may be altering the original audio track, which I don't recommend (because it makes it difficult to undo processing if you don't like it.
Bruce A. Christenson is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 05:11 PM   #1017
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Thanks for the tip!

Just to check - we have to use CTRL+C to copy the data, right? We can't use a right-click or the Edit menu?
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 05:46 PM   #1018
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Vegas 4 startup when camcorder is turned on? Win XP Pro

Right now, Vegas 3.0 comes up.
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 06:16 PM   #1019
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Deinterlace method? Questions

1. Is this correct?

Blend makes video choppier but there is no ghosting
Interpolate makes the video smoother but ghosting will occur

2. Do you use the de-interlacer in Vegas or something else?
Do you recommend using VirtualDub over Vegas?

3. Should I de-interlace before or after editing in Vegas?
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old September 10th, 2003, 07:59 PM   #1020
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mulberry
Posts: 37
thanks guys .. this is exactly the info I was looking for .. vegas looks more and more like a real contender :)
__________________
PD150
Carlos Rego is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network