Vegas Video discussions from 2003 - Page 94 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 25th, 2003, 09:45 PM   #1396
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You may want to try Track Motion with a lot of keyframes.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old October 26th, 2003, 01:27 AM   #1397
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 158
LOL

That's what I was thinking about doing! how funny. That is the only way I can think of doing it. Wonder if they do have a plug-in though.

Thanks,
__________________
Best Regards,
Mark T. Monciardini
Riverlight Studios
www.riverlightstudios.com
DVX100/Final Cut Pro 4/Mac G5 Dual 1.8
Mark Monciardini is offline  
Old October 26th, 2003, 06:27 AM   #1398
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
What about the old movie effect? Just turn off the scratches and I believe it has a jumping option. I'm not in front of Vegas right now or I'd look.
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old October 26th, 2003, 01:00 PM   #1399
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: U.K.
Posts: 125
Update Regards DSE's Vegas 4 Editing Workshop Tutorial Disc

CMP Books have kindly dispatched another copy to me.

10 out of 10 for their Customer Services!

Regards,
Neil
Neil McLean is offline  
Old October 26th, 2003, 07:45 PM   #1400
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 484
How is the book by the way?

I've waited so long for the thing to _finally_ arrive in stores, I cancelled my order thinking it would never come out, heh.
__________________
Andrew | Canon XL1s, ME66, Vinten Vision 3, GlideCam V16 (for sale!)
Andrew Petrie is offline  
Old October 27th, 2003, 07:10 AM   #1401
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: U.K.
Posts: 125
Hello Andrew,

DSE does an excellent job of covering a vast array of Vegas aspects from the fundamentals up.

There are quite a few reviews of the book at amazon.com

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/1578202191/qid=1067259995/sr=1-1/ref=sr_1_1/103-5823592-8795810?v=glance&s=books
Neil McLean is offline  
Old October 28th, 2003, 11:57 AM   #1402
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: tehachapi, ca
Posts: 4
GL-2

I have a GL-2 and Vegas 4.0d and it works fine.
Im using the 1394 built on my ASUS motherboard.
Check to make sure the "DV out" message (mode) on the GL-2 is on (I think...check the manual, vcr menu)

good luck
Robert Morgan is offline  
Old October 28th, 2003, 12:24 PM   #1403
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 18
Thanks Robert,

I just got it figured out. AFter exhausting all support means(Sony could not help me any longer as the camera was not recognized by MS MovieMaker either), I reloaded XP, but only as an upgrade, so I did not screw up my settings.

During the install, I got the message, "cannot locate file avicap32.dll". AHA! sounded like a video capture driver to me.

I called Alienware and sure enough, they had a few recovery disks go out with this file missing.

I got the driver and loaded into XP and now everything is fine.

I can now follow along with Douglas Spotted Eagle on the DVD training set!

thanks all.
__________________
20X optical using "L" glass is a beautiful thing.
Jeff Jordan is offline  
Old October 30th, 2003, 10:26 AM   #1404
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 3
Can't make .mpg; missing from menu

Help…

I encountered a strange problem the first time I tried to render an MPEG-1 or -2 on Vegas 4.0a (build 119). Other file types seem to work, to the extent that I have explored them.

Here’s the problem: The MainConcept MPEG-1 and –2 options appear in the “Save as type” window (in “Render As”), but when I try to select one I get the following message:

“There is no template available for this format. The selected media may not support it. Try again”

After that, whichever MPEG option was selected no longer appears in the “Save as type” options. All of the other options will be listed, but the MainConcept MPEG-1 and –2 disappear from the choices until the project is closed and reopened again.

This was early boxed software, and I get no response when I try to register online. The FAQ mentions that some early boxed sets did not require registration and would not time out, but I can’t seem to get registered even if I try. The manual mentions that MainConcept licensing requires separate registration, but how?

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
RogerH
Roger Hess is offline  
Old October 30th, 2003, 10:43 AM   #1405
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Forest Grove, OR
Posts: 122
Go get the 4.0d update.

http://mediasoftware.sonypictures.co...p1.asp?CatID=2
Bruce A. Christenson is offline  
Old October 30th, 2003, 11:51 AM   #1406
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 177
I think the film motion will only jump vertically. I think it would also seem too fast for a shaky cam, but there may be a speed option (I'm also away from my Vegas PC). You can copy and paste keyframes for pan and crop. That is probably how I would do it. Set up a few positions and paste them along the event.
Joe Sacher is offline  
Old October 30th, 2003, 01:39 PM   #1407
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Plus old film effect only shakes the "screen" not the view of the camera as if the camera was shaky while filming.

The easiest way would have been to shoot it shaky to begin with.
Glen Elliott is offline  
Old October 30th, 2003, 01:43 PM   #1408
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Regardless of what version it is it should automatically prompt you to register the Main Concept encoder when you go to use it. Upgrading is a good idea...even if you didn't have this problem. If you continue to encounter this problem after the 4.0d upgrade call tech support.
Glen Elliott is offline  
Old October 31st, 2003, 09:41 AM   #1409
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 158
Software trailer created with Vegas 4 /shaking screen too

Just a week ago I posted asking how to shake the screen and I've did this by using Event/Pan & Crop with lots of keyframes and it came out pretty good. I just about have all the control I need. It's a trailer for my up and coming Training CD-ROM for Photoshop CS. Hope you enjoy, feedback appreciated.

www.designsbymark.com
__________________
Best Regards,
Mark T. Monciardini
Riverlight Studios
www.riverlightstudios.com
DVX100/Final Cut Pro 4/Mac G5 Dual 1.8
Mark Monciardini is offline  
Old October 31st, 2003, 12:27 PM   #1410
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 177
You link has something wrong with it. This one works: http://www.designsbymark.com/
Joe Sacher is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network