Surround & Downmixing help needed - Page 2 at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 27th, 2006, 10:46 PM   #16
Inner Circle
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
no need to get any of that when uve got teh best tool already at ur fingertips..

if however your wanting to go hard with this, id recommend the DTS encoder, but its about 2k AUD and not every DVD authoring suite supports the format
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2006, 03:46 PM   #17
Regular Crew
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 195
(1) When I've created a 5.1 mix, on previewing or rendering out a stereo version, I get clipping at the loudest points as if Vegas is just summing channels. The downmix function only affects monitoring (where I can hear the distortion) and Vegas lacks any sort of intelligence in creating a stereo file out of 5.1 project.

I don't know if this will get around after so much time from the original posting but I bet I have an answer to #1.

I recently had a professionally mixed and mastered audio project done in 5.1. It was a music concert. When I layed the 6 channels of final audio onto the timeline, I rendered and upon playback, it sounded like crap. It clipped in many places. After paying many dollars for the mastering, I promptly tore a new butt on the guy who did the work - after all, mastering sets final volumes right? He got back to me the next day and said it sounded perfect to him. (He is very well respected in the business). I took his files back to the mixing engineer and they played perfect to him as well. I was really starting to get embarrased. I went back home and reinstalled the tracks on a new Vegas file and again they clipped. I couldn't figure it out so I called Vegas support and after 3 days of caling them, I finally reached someone that knew what they were doing. He instructed me to right click on the left side of the track and a box opened up. It seems that the box needs to be checked for constant power. It seems that Vegas blends the front right, left and center by default. You have to check each box for constant power so Vegas won't blend those tracks. Their reasoning to me was since all three are front tracks, they default to be blended. I checked the boxes and everything sounds great. I ate a lot of crow. Vegas is a decent program but you think something like this would not be buried in the manual.

Hope this solves your problem.

Jeff Mack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2006, 08:20 PM   #18
Space Hipster
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 1,508
Originally Posted by Jeff Mack
Hope this solves your problem.

Incredibly useful find Jeff - much appreciated. I knew it was summing channels somewhere. Thanks again!
stephen v2
Stephen van Vuuren is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:22 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network