V V4 Beta results? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 2nd, 2003, 02:52 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
V V4 Beta results?

Just wondering how the VV4 beta testing is going. Anyone download and use it yet?
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2003, 03:47 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 366
Downloaded it but too busy or lazy to install and play with it. Interesting review by Brian Standing though.

http://abcdv.com/article/articleview/64/1/52
Rick Spilman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2003, 08:23 PM   #3
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
I have played with it a little. I really like the built in wave form monitor and vectorscope, and the advanced color correction tools. I remember SF's site said something about "using prerender files to render" or something like that. Maybe this means it won't have to rerender every time the wind blows?
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2003, 08:40 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield MO
Posts: 24
I have been using it and it sure seems to use more system resources. I am a huge Vegas fan, but there is not enough in 4 for me to want to upgrade.
Eric Reynolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2003, 02:10 PM   #5
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
I've been using V4 alot. The two biggest improvements are in the area of color correction/vectorscope, waveform analyzer and the addition of 5.1 surround sound ala Acid 4. There are a miriad of other "changes" which can be classified as slicker ways to do what vv3 already did. Well worth the upgrade, but, then, thats just MHO.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2003, 02:36 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mesa, Az.
Posts: 167
I may be doing something wrong, but it takes way longer to render the same clips on my system than Premiere.
__________________
Jeff Chandler
Jeff Chandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2003, 04:22 PM   #7
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
Quality doesn't come for free. Premiere uses the Micro$oft codec, whereas Vv3/v4 uses the SoFo codec. The M$ DV codec is garbage and I wouldn't use it if it were free. So, since I'm not in a newsroom, time costs me very little for the higher quality.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2003, 04:30 PM   #8
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Yes, I've downloaded it and played with it some. Here are my reasons for upgrading:

1) Much better color correction tools.
2) Better rippling
3) Includes the "add-on" package for Vegas 3 (effects & transitions)
4) Faster scrubbing (up to 20x)
5) Smart resampling (no more need to set the switch when changing speeds)
6) Smarter at keeping track of pre-renders
7) Scripting capabilities to add MANY new features to the program.
8) Interesting editing methods such as "shuffle"
9) 5.1 encoding
10) Built-in scopes
11) Master Video/Audio tracks to keyframe things that were previously not keyframable.

Shall we continue??? I see a LOT of reasons to upgrade.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2003, 05:46 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 42
IMO, the upgrade makes sense depending on how much you use Vegas professionally.

If Video stuff is just a hobby for you, there might not be enough to upgrade, if you're looking to use it professionally, it's a must upgrade


just my .02
Eric Richmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2003, 06:23 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield MO
Posts: 24
I take back my saying I would not upgrade. I would and will, but not till my computer can handle it.
Eric Reynolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2003, 10:30 PM   #11
Slash Rules!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,723
I know it's still not available, but does anyone know what the prices will be for those going from 3 to 4? Or is it still a secret?
Josh Bass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2003, 06:55 AM   #12
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,244
I agree with Bill and Ed whole-heartedly. I've downloaded and used V4.0 since I got the e-mail notice from SoFo. I bought 3.0 when it was first introduced and have had no regrets. After looking at several other NLEs, except for FCP, I was ready to buy Avid DVExpress. My only complaint about VV3.0 was the lack of a robust color correction system. I sent them an e-mail stating such. Now, that's not to say they did that for me or because I sent them an e-mail suggesting it. But it's obvious that enough people did. What I'm saying is they appear to be serious when it comes to listening to their customers.

I'm confident that VV can stand up against any other product out there. Oddly enough, I think the upgrade to 4.0 is similar to the upgrade from the XL-1 to the XL1-s. On the surface, it may appear to be somewhat superficial. However, for those of us who have used both extensively, we have learned that that simply isn't true.

As someone else said, if you're into video as a hobby, stay with 3.0. If your a serious video producer (as income) it will be, again, a steal for the cost of an upgrade!

Just my opinion!
Jay Gladwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2003, 08:25 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mesa, Az.
Posts: 167
I guess I should have explained that I use the Storm so I'm not using the Microdoft codec, but rather the Canopus. I did compare clips that were rendered, though, and VV took a lot longer. I also have Avid XDV and FCP, and both rendered faster thatn VV4, at least in my test. Time for me is critical, so speed matters for me.
__________________
Jeff Chandler
Jeff Chandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2003, 11:58 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 366
Jeff,

I agree you about render times. Premiere renders only what needs to be rendered whereas it appears that VV renders the entire timeline. Maybe I have VV set-up wrong but the rendering does seem awfully slow.

Overall I like the software. It is much more stable than Premiere was on my machine but I have to figure out how to manage the render times. I am still using my Rex RT for color correction and some filters just to avoid the VV render times .

Rick
Rick Spilman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2003, 12:02 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield MO
Posts: 24
What the guy on the other forum said is true... that's not really a *Great* deal... not for an upgrade. I could sell my copy of vv3 and then pay less for the full install of vv4.

"A new Sonic Foundry flyer in the SNAIL MAIL today! Upgrade from Vegas 1, 2, or 3 to Vegas 4: $199.95
Video Factory to Vegas 4: $399.95"
Eric Reynolds is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network