Anyone used the Replace function? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 22nd, 2006, 06:21 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 34
Anyone used the Replace function?

I've been editing an avi proxy in Vegas 6d made from an HDV original. The editing is now finished and I've selected replace to substitute the original HDV back. However, the replacement doesn't appear to be frame accurate. Consequently I have odd unwanted frames at some of the cuts. I'm just wondering whether anyone else has experienced this?
Thanks
David
David Tyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2006, 08:24 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
so ur replacing a DVAVi with an M2t??

Hmm...

never tried that... usually I just use cineform avi as performance only takes a slight hit compared to SD DV and rendering is furiously faster than M2t....
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2006, 03:26 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 158
Have you considered GearShift?
Shawn Redford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2006, 12:06 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 34
OK I've now tried this a few times under different circumstances and I can confirm that the replace function is not frame accurate. I was hoping not to have to buy more software (ie gearshift) as the replace function should in theory do everything I want on its own.

Oh well. Looks like I'll have to allow greater tollerance in my edits (ie not right up to the edge of the usable frames).
David Tyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2006, 01:03 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Tyler
I've been editing an avi proxy in Vegas 6d made from an HDV original. The editing is now finished and I've selected replace to substitute the original HDV back. However, the replacement doesn't appear to be frame accurate. Consequently I have odd unwanted frames at some of the cuts. I'm just wondering whether anyone else has experienced this?
Thanks
David
You know I just experienced this also. I converted my m2t on the fly with CFHD codec (connect HD trail version). Did my cuts and put them togther. Next I made a DVD out of it came out great. Next I wanted the master copy printed on to HDV tape. I replace that CFHD codec to the origianl M2T. As I previewed the cuts,dissolves, and transitions I noticed unwanted frame!!! I had to go to each transition and fix it and you know how painful that is with the M2T files!! Does anyone have a fix for this??
Fred Foronda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2006, 11:59 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 337
I got answer for this problem:http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...d=1#post474649

Thanks everyone for a great site!!!
Fred Foronda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2006, 02:38 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 34
Sorry, but this isn't an answer for me. I'm not using the Cineform intermediate avi, I'm using a lower res proxy. The replace is an essential part of the process. Looks like the answer is just that as experienced, the replace is not frame accurate. Now that I know this I will try to adjust my edit technique accordingly.
David Tyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2006, 03:01 PM   #8
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Did you create the proxy in Vegas? Or elsewhere? It should be frame accurate on the replace, but if you did it by hand, without using a region, it's quite possible you've got an error in there.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2006, 02:19 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 34
I created the proxy (SD avi) in Vegas. I didn't use regions but just dragged the whole HDV file to the timeline and rendered it. I assumed it would render the whole thing. It certainly seemed to.
David Tyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2006, 01:27 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 34
Douglas, what did you mean by 'by hand'? If I just create a region equivalent to the whole file will this work? I don't understand why creating a region is necessary if I'm rendering the whole file? Sorry to have so many questions.
David Tyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 01:26 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 34
Douglas, sorry to hassle you but I could really use an answer to this one. It will be a real pain if I have to do a tidy-up edit on the hdv footage after replacing.

Thanks
David Tyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2006, 01:17 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 34
Please help

I've now tried pulling the original m2t footage onto the timeline, creating a loop region from the start to the end of it and rendering that to an avi file (in Vegas 6d). I edit the avi file and finally choose replace to substitute the original m2t file, but its still not frame accurate. In fact its out by as much as 10 frames on some cuts.

Can anyone offer any help on this one, (other than using Gearshift which I was hoping I wouldn't need to do).

Thanks
David Tyler is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network