Render question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 2nd, 2006, 09:05 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 40
Render question

Do you render and save to AVI or a Mpf format when your getting ready to burn a DVD in DVD Architect 3?
Richard Bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 09:13 AM   #2
Sponsor: VASST
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 516
You can do either but you will get slightly better results if you render an MPEG video stream and AC3 audio stream directly from Vegas. Use the DVD Architect MPEG2 templates that Vegas provides.

~jr
__________________
Developer: VASST Ultimate S, Scattershot 3D, Mayhem, FASST Apps, and other VASST Software plug-ins
Web Site: www.johnrofrano.com
John Rofrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2006, 12:16 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 1,997
The Beauty of DVDA & Vegas

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Bender
Do you render and save to AVI or a Mpf format when your getting ready to burn a DVD in DVD Architect 3?
I haven't used anything BUT the DVDA render of MPEG2. The result is great quality and no re-rendering from inside DVDA. Granted, the MPEG2 render from Vegas will take a long time if the project is of any complexity or size and you won't be able to network render (still haven't been able to get that working).

But you shouldn't accept the quality hit by using any other format.

jason
Jason Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2006, 07:20 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 508
Could someone explain what DVDA is?
Alex Thames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2006, 07:27 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 16
Alex,
DVDA = (Sony) DVD Architect...at least I hope it does as that's how I've been interpreting it over the last couple of years.
Ken Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2006, 08:58 PM   #6
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
It's simply much easier to type DVDA instead of the full "DVD Architect". (Plus, you don't need to know how to spell "Architect" :-) )
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2006, 12:27 AM   #7
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Just bear in mind that it's also a porn-industry reference, hence the reason many are loathe to use the "DVDA" moniker. Makes some folks snigger a bit. I tend to use "DVD A" instead, FWIW.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2006, 05:25 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
Yes a very bad choice of acronyms I think.

Aaron
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2006, 08:32 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
whats wrong wth porn?? ;)
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2006, 10:02 PM   #10
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Jefferson
whats wrong wth porn?? ;)
Too much to get into here... and also the reason I have never heard of any sort of alternate meanings and, I'm sure, I do NOT want to know.

p.s. I think this thread has gone far enough now.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2006, 12:23 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Watertown, CT
Posts: 29
I use uncompressed AVI

I've been rendering TV :30's to uncompressed AVI's and then re-rendering out again in DVD architect. This yields a razor sharp output so far as I can tell.

The MPEG streams are compressed and result in less data on the DVD then when I re-render from AVI, so I'm convinced there is more compression if you go straight to MPEG.
Eric Pontbriand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2006, 02:33 AM   #12
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Pontbriand

The MPEG streams are compressed and result in less data on the DVD then when I re-render from AVI, so I'm convinced there is more compression if you go straight to MPEG.

Of course there is. You render to DVavi first, you're going to a 4:1:1 sample, and then you render to MPEG from that, and you've got 4:2:0, which means it's really 4:1:0 because it's so starved at encode input.
Always render from the timeline to MPEG if you can.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network