Interlacing Artifacts at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 5th, 2006, 10:43 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 1,200
Interlacing Artifacts

I've tried a couple of times to render downconverted 1080i footage without interlacing artifacts without success. They're not hugely noticeable, but there must be a way to eliminate them. The original footage is XLH1 24f.

I've tried several different render settings and the artifacts are still present during motion shots on the rendered product.

Is there a deinterlacing workflow in DVD Architect? Or third party (Crash??) plug-in.

If anyone can help, I'll post my settings
__________________
C100, 5DMk2, FCPX
Ken Diewert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2006, 11:43 AM   #2
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
What are your render settings?
David Jimerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2006, 12:13 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 1,200
David,

.avi

First I tried NTSC DV Widescreen 24p (inserting 2-3 pulldown). The rendered project had interlacing artifacts. When I read through the description after, I saw that it was rendered as progressive (which would make sense as it does say 24p)

So I then recreated the whole project (it's only 5-6 minutes - 40 or so edits).

I set my file properties to 720x480, DV Widescreen, PA 1.2121, Lower Field first, Blend Fields

And Rendered as

NTSC DV Widescreen
29.97

This was the only way I could opt out of 'progressive' and preserve the de-interlace settings. However, there were still interlace artifacts on rendered project.

Thanks,

Ken
__________________
C100, 5DMk2, FCPX
Ken Diewert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2006, 12:32 PM   #4
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
Well, DV is an interlaced format. When you render with pulldown, you're rendering as interlaced, so some "frames" will show interlace artifacts.

Try rendering uncompressed, 720x480, 1.21, 23.976, progressive. This will give you a pure 23.976 AVI.
David Jimerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2006, 12:42 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 1,200
Thanks David.

I'll try it and post the results.

Ken
__________________
C100, 5DMk2, FCPX
Ken Diewert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2006, 12:44 PM   #6
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
Well, what are you intending your output to be? If for the web, you're better off rendering to WMV, which is inherently progressive.
David Jimerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2006, 01:06 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 1,200
David,

It's just a highlight reel for my sons baseball team. I will out put to DVD.

I tried your settings as a 'custom' setting, and it played back terribly on my monitor. I then tried DV Widescreen 24p and DV Widescreen 29.97 both standard templates.

They seem to be of equal quality. The areas of high contrast (wide beside black - sleeves on uniforms) are demonstrating highest interlacing. Especially where movement is evident. For what I'm doing they will be fine, but I was just trying to resolve the issue for next time.

I likely should have shot in 60i till I get used to the workflow and explore the challenges of 24f in certain situations, such as sports.

Would 60i be less likely to artifact?

Thanks for your help.

Ken.
__________________
C100, 5DMk2, FCPX
Ken Diewert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2006, 09:09 AM   #8
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
If that's the case, you should be able to export using the DVD Architect Widescreen 24p DVD template and make a 24p DVD.

What are your project settings?
David Jimerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2006, 01:03 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 1,200
David,

My project settings are:

720x480
23.976
1.21 NTSC DV Widescreen
Lower Field First

Render - Quality Good, Gaussian, Blend Fields
__________________
C100, 5DMk2, FCPX
Ken Diewert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2006, 01:37 PM   #10
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
Try editing in a 1080i HD project and change the settings to 23.976 and progressive.

If you right-click and select "Properties" on your clips, what does it tell you for stream properties?
David Jimerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2006, 01:58 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 1,200
David,

Would I need to to restart the project in 1080i?. This was downconverted footage form the H1.

Clip Stream Properties

720x480x24

F.R. 29.970 (maybe this is the problem?)
F.O. Lower Field
P.A. 1.21
Alpha None
__________________
C100, 5DMk2, FCPX
Ken Diewert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2006, 01:58 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 1,200
Double Post... Don't press your TAB Key.
__________________
C100, 5DMk2, FCPX
Ken Diewert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2006, 02:11 PM   #13
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
Ah . . . didn't realize it was downconverted. This is all coming together now!

Unfortunately, it looks like there isn't any pulldown to remove, so you can't edit in 24p. Trying to convert it to 24p will create a mess, as I think you've seen. Best just to stay editing in 60i.

HOWEVER, you can try this -- and it'll be a longshot at getting it perfectly right --

Right-click on the clip IN the Media Pool. Choose File Format Properties. A dialog box will appear -- click the checkbox for "Enable 2-3 Pulldown Removal." Don't change the starting frame timecode offset.

This MIGHT make a useable 24p file out of it, but it might not. You can try adjusting the starting frame (by changing the default 0), but it might not be worth the trial and error.

As for project properties, you can always change them instantly on the fly. I think Vegas is the ONLY NLE which allows this.

Last edited by David Jimerson; July 7th, 2006 at 11:07 AM.
David Jimerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2006, 03:03 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 1,200
David,

I will be stuck with downconverting from the H1 for the near future. Any advice on how best to render (mostly to DVD).

Should I stick with 60i? Is there preferrable project settings for downconverting?

Thanks for all your help.

Ken.
__________________
C100, 5DMk2, FCPX
Ken Diewert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2006, 11:06 AM   #15
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
What exactly is it you're trying to achieve? A DVD presentation with no interlace artifacts?

What kind of a TV will you be watching on?
David Jimerson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network