How to fit rendered movie onto dvd in architech at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 17th, 2006, 05:21 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 186
How to fit rendered movie onto dvd in architech

I just rendered a video project. I imported to the architech DVD stage. I was preparing it and it told me that the information I have was too big for the disc. It said I had 6.6 gig of info. I'm trying to find out how I can get this onto a 4.7 gig dvd.

I went to "optimize" but it's confusing to me...I attempted to click on the project to optimize, but I'm still getting an error message. What steps do I need to do to get it burned onto dvd.??

In the optimize box of vegas movie studio + DVD architech it says this information:

estimated size 6,528.0 MB (13% of 4.7 GB media)
and a slider that reads right now: default video bitrate (8.000)

What do I do ??
Thanks
Dean
Dean Orewiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2006, 06:19 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 186
This is strange. the only thing I have with a yellow explanation point next to it is an icon that looks like a square with 4 dots in it...that is only a 0.5 MB file (maybe a menu I designed on architech) and the other video file below it has a green check mark with my movie at 6,7527.5 MB...it says that is okay, but the yellow explanation is next to the dinky 0.5MB file (maybe the menu)...it's not the audio or the video but a square with 4 dots in it....

I'm not doing a thing (changing anything) until I hear from you pros out there.
Thanks
Dean
Dean Orewiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2006, 10:11 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 186
also, doesn't vegas movie maker automatically put the movie into mpeg format when I click on Make Movie and then render it?
I've never had any problems before until now, but this is the biggest project I have ever done...it's a pageant that is 1 hour 52 minutes long with titles, dissolves, fades, and one and two tracks of audio. I can't imagine that this program can't take this movie (even if it is 6.6 gigs of info) and put it onto a 4.7 dvd....

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have a friend who has premiere and he has no problems...I'm beginning to think that I'm at a dead end.
Dean Orewiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2006, 10:16 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 186
i also spent 8 hours in post in vegas movie maker designing this...and it looks great, but what is the use if I can't get it to burn onto a dvd? HELP !!
Dean Orewiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2006, 11:57 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Dean:

I just looked at Architect, and what happens when I load a project that is going to come out bigger than 4.7 gig, it gives a message, with the optimize button. So I select optomize, when the screen comes up, I select the slider to slide it till it shows under 100 %, or you can press fit to disk. It appears that in "fit to disk" that the program automatically selects 95%, which helps avoid some of the outer edge of the disk that may cause play problems. Note: Any thing over an hour will result in a bit rate reduced by the program. However, my experience is that a two hour video still can look pretty good, despite the reduced bitrate.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2006, 12:04 AM   #6
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos
Dean:
Any thing over an hour will result in a bit rate reduced by the program. However, my experience is that a two hour video still can look pretty good, despite the reduced bitrate.
Chris/Dean;
Architect will want to recompress/reencode anything over the max size. There is no time length. If you wanted to encode a DVD at 3mpbs, you could. Length isn't an issue on it's own. Bitrate isn't an issue on it's own up to 9.8, but add the two values together, and you could run into some trouble. This is where a bitrate calculator comes in handy if you're going to encode outside of Architect.
Normally, I recommend encoding outside of Architect, but if you're using Vegas Movie Studio vs the full version, you gain very little by not just rendering an avi and letting DVD Architect pick the bitrate for you.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2006, 12:10 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
DSE:

Okay, so the encoder in standard Vegas 6 is better than the Architect encoder. Is there a difference in the encoders for the full version of DVD Architect and the one that comes with Movie Maker ?
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2006, 03:06 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 186
I just tried to render the same project under a new name, and it took 4 hours - and I rendered it to MPEG-2....and all I got was a rendered pic / no sound.

Can somebody give me a step by step instruction from the VF project - to rendering it, to architech and burning?

I just can't get this thing to work.

P.S. I do have my first project rendered in a folder with both audio and video files folder, but this is the one that is rendered too big - and has that menu file that is 0.5MB and has the explanation point next to it in yellow...the rest of the bigger video file (below it in optimize box) has a green arrow next to it and that is the big file 6,530 MB .

Thanks
Dean
Dean Orewiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2006, 08:37 AM   #9
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Dean, just render the entire project out to DV-AVI and then give THAT file to DVD Architect. DVD Architect will then compress to MPEG2 at a proper bitrate and all will be fine.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2006, 08:51 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 186
thanks guys, i'll give it a try....what a fiasco
Dean
Dean Orewiler is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network