Subtitles at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 23rd, 2006, 02:34 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 75
Subtitles

If someone here was to setup subtitles how would you do it in vegas? I read some instructions on this, but would like some vision from someone who has done it if possible.
__________________
John Lorince
Http://capturemotion.tv
John Lorince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2006, 02:55 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chattanooga, tn
Posts: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Lorince
If someone here was to setup subtitles how would you do it in vegas? I read some instructions on this, but would like some vision from someone who has done it if possible.
I assume you're talking about exporting subtitles for DVDA and not burned-in on-screen subtitles, right? If so... it's basically a 3-step process:

1) Add some regions wherever you want your subtitles to appear--the durations of the regions will correspond to the lengths of the subtitles. As you add each region, name it with the text you'd like to display.

2) Go to Tools / Scripting / Export regions as subtitles and save your .sub file.

3) In your DVDA project, add a subtitle track and activate it. Then right-click on the track header and select "import subtitles." Browse to your .sub file and there you go.

You can mess with text properties and colors etc. from there.

Hope that helps.
__________________
-->jarrod whaley.
www.oakstreetfilms.com
Jarrod Whaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2006, 12:28 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 75
I get an error message

When I import subtitles into DVDA I get an error that says "Warning: An Error Occured while opening one or more files. The Reason for the error could not be determined". Anyone know why this would happen? I followed the instructions you posted Jarrod.
__________________
John Lorince
Http://capturemotion.tv
John Lorince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2006, 08:14 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chattanooga, tn
Posts: 721
What happens when you try to open the .sub file with a text editor?
__________________
-->jarrod whaley.
www.oakstreetfilms.com
Jarrod Whaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2006, 11:02 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 75
text editor?

A text editor such as what? Just curious, never messed with a sub. file before. I decided to just type in the subtitles on the frame instead, hopefully next time I will figure it out.
__________________
John Lorince
Http://capturemotion.tv
John Lorince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2006, 11:06 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chattanooga, tn
Posts: 721
Like notepad on a Windows machine, or whatever the Mac equivalent would be. Try opening it with one of these and see if everything looks OK. You'll basically just see the subtitle text with timecode information next to it.

This is just to see if Vegas is exporting the .sub file correctly. If so, then your issue is with DVDA somehow. You know, process of elimination.

But I guess you worked around the problem, so that's that.
__________________
-->jarrod whaley.
www.oakstreetfilms.com
Jarrod Whaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2006, 09:19 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nanuet NY
Posts: 74
As a follow-up to Jarrod's Post #2 above -- what if burned-in, on-screen subtitles are needed? Is it much more complicated than the procedure described for DVDA?
Mike Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2006, 10:33 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: chattanooga, tn
Posts: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Brown
As a follow-up to Jarrod's Post #2 above -- what if burned-in, on-screen subtitles are needed? Is it much more complicated than the procedure described for DVDA?
If you need hard subs, just use Vegas' titler.
__________________
-->jarrod whaley.
www.oakstreetfilms.com
Jarrod Whaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 05:32 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nanuet NY
Posts: 74
Thanks, Jarrod.
Mike Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2009, 03:16 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 75
Subtitles Thanks

Thank you all very much for your information on subtitles, at the time I must have been too stressed out to come back and thank you all....So here is nice Big Cleveland Ohio THANKS!
__________________
John Lorince
Http://capturemotion.tv
John Lorince is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network