v7 - Not very excited yet - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 13th, 2006, 12:25 PM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hamden CT
Posts: 470
Better dual core support is long overdue especially for audio.
Richard Zlamany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2006, 12:45 PM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 497
What keeps bugging me is that you need an external audio editor - even for the simplest of modifications...
Werner Wesp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2006, 12:46 PM   #18
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Hmm, Where do I sign up for the promotion? I still see 234.95 as the price on sony's site.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2006, 12:56 PM   #19
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Werner,

Can you elaborate on what you mean by "the simplest of modifications"?
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2006, 01:10 PM   #20
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Stephen, did you follow the link provided by Gary Bettan in the other thread?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2006, 02:55 PM   #21
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel
Stephen, did you follow the link provided by Gary Bettan in the other thread?
Let me take a look.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2006, 04:39 AM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 497
Well, Dan, Any effect you want to modify a single audio file with, you need to let Vegas replace the file with a different file (take 2) that has the effect rendered in it. It goes smooth enough, no problem, it's just very difficult if you want to change some things.

E.g. it would be nice if you could use the equaliser without having to render it into a new file for hearing it with the rest of the sound on the timeline... And that would make it easier to modify if you feel like it....
Werner Wesp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2006, 08:25 AM   #23
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Werner Wesp
E.g. it would be nice if you could use the equaliser without having to render it into a new file for hearing it with the rest of the sound on the timeline... And that would make it easier to modify if you feel like it....
Why don't you put the effect on the TRACK instead of the event?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2006, 12:36 PM   #24
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 497
I know, but then you might need a whole lot of different audio tracks if you want to do many things. Anyhow, I can work around it just fine, I always have, but every update I'm dissapointed they don't update that aspect (I remember hoping it would be there in v6.0 but no...)
Werner Wesp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2006, 08:53 PM   #25
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
First Use of Vegas 7 DV Render.

So I decided to try render of indentical files in Vegas and Premiere Pro 2.0. I'm begining to have more feel for Vegas as I have been forcing myself to learn it, having been using Premiere for about 8 years now.

I was a bit discouraged when I renderd in the two programs. I was simply taking a 5 minute file, put a mask on it to make it look like 16:9. In doing that, I have a photo file I use in my Sony VX2000 to create an in camera combined image effect, and I put these on a separate line in both Premiere and Vegas, and Chroma keyed to get the center blue screen transparent.

Initally I just put the photo file on the time line and streched it across the timeline, did the key. And rendered. Vegas took 33 minutes. Premiere took 6 minutes.

I then tried to cut down on time by just rendering the photo file as a 5 second movie, but it on the time line, then chroma keyed again, and then rendered again. Cut render time down to about 14 minutes, but that seems like too much of a difference.

I'm running a self-built AMD 3800+ dual core, and a ATI PCI Express card, with 256 mem, and 2 gigs of memory on board.

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong, or can I just expect longer renders for some reason in Vegas ?
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2006, 11:52 PM   #26
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hamden CT
Posts: 470
My 1st guess is that vegas is not using the dual core cpus as much as adobe is.

Can you check the task manager to see if the usage of both cpus with both apps is equal?
Richard Zlamany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2006, 12:32 AM   #27
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Zlam
My 1st guess is that vegas is not using the dual core cpus as much as adobe is.

Can you check the task manager to see if the usage of both cpus with both apps is equal?
Yeah, it was maxing them out... I checked that with an AMD Power monitor... a free utility at AMD.

I just ran a combine of two clips using one line in Vegas. Total new clip was three plus minutes, and I rendered in in about 1 minute. No filters or chroma keyings. So it must have been keying that was causing the delay...

That, or Adobe uses the Video Card in addition
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2006, 01:32 AM   #28
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minneapolis Minnesota
Posts: 347
Where is the Best deal to Upgrade to Vegas7+DVD ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel
Stephen, did you follow the link provided by Gary Bettan in the other thread?
Hi there, Where/What is the other thread, or quite simply where does one go for the lowest cost to upgrade from Vegas6+DVD ?

Thanks - PK
Paul Kepen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2006, 01:45 AM   #29
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Try this:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...t=75011&page=2


go to post 18, and hit go to website indicated.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2006, 10:47 AM   #30
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Minneapolis Minnesota
Posts: 347
Thanks Chris Barcellos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos
Try this:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...t=75011&page=2


go to post 18, and hit go to website indicated.
Thanks Chris for the link. Have a Great Day - PK
Paul Kepen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network