"Low-Rez Proxy" to edit HDV then Render Real at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 15th, 2006, 09:24 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 101
"Low-Rez Proxy" to edit HDV then Render Real

I have an... older PC but will be shooting a movie soon with the Sony Z1. Now... when I start to edit this monster... is it a viable solution to just capure a "Low Rez Proxy" version (say... even just DV quality), play around with it, color it, cuts, sound, ect. and then when it is complete just use the captured/saved In/Out points to re-capture the Z1s full on Hi Rez quality and replace the proxy DV files with the real Hi Rez files? (Then take a vacation to Hawaii for a week while it renders).

I use to do this years ago... with Premeire and it worked fine... although just added a little time.

Is this a good solution? Please tell me the disadvantages?
Carl Downs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2006, 09:37 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Capture HD and use Gearshift (available from VASST) to generate the lower res proxies. When done editing, Gearshift can then switch you back to the original files for final rendering. Just do a search here for Gearshift for more details.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2006, 12:40 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Downs
...and then when it is complete just use the captured/saved In/Out points to re-capture the Z1s full on Hi Rez quality and replace the proxy DV files with the real Hi Rez files?...
There are potentially some serious problems with this workflow, due to no timecode capture from HDV over firewire. Every individually captured HDV clip begins at 0:00. DV is just fine, go figure.

You could work around this by keeping the camcorder on record-run during shooting, then only capturing whole tapes. Some people would like this just fine, others would go nuts when they log and edit hour-long clips.

With the software Edward suggested you can capture HDV in whatever fashion makes the most sense for you and later do an automagic replace of DV with HDV footage on the timeline before rendering. The final color correction pass (if any) should be done with the HDV footage.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2006, 09:33 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 101
I See...

"due to no timecode capture from HDV over firewire." Thats a bummer! why such a basic thing is non-functional... This of course makes capture/re-capture a major pain. I will check into Gearshift, Thank you both for your replies. P.S. Is there any disadvantages with Gearshift? (except for the extra steps of course) or is it a pretty solid plug-in and method of editing?
Carl Downs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 03:45 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth Bloombaum
There are potentially some serious problems with this workflow, due to no timecode capture from HDV over firewire. Every individually captured HDV clip begins at 0:00. DV is just fine, go figure.
Unless you've done the upgrade to V7, that is :-)
Notable Fixes/Changes in Version 7.0a
* Added support for scene detection when capturing HDV video. Use the Enable HDV scene detection check box on the General tab of the Capture Preferences dialog to toggle scene detection.
* Added the ability to read timecode from most HDV files (some 720p formats do not contain useful timecode).
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 12:22 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Kujbida
Unless you've done the upgrade to V7, that is :-)
Notable Fixes/Changes in Version 7.0a
...
* Added the ability to read timecode from most HDV files (some 720p formats do not contain useful timecode).

OK, I gotta' find time to check this out. I would most happily eat my words if Sony has solved this problem, and be jumping for joy if my existing firewire transfers from Z1 suddenly sprout timecode!

Mike, have you seen it work? Anyone?
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 12:27 PM   #7
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Seth, it works, but bear in mind that not all camcorders send useful timecode down the Firewire connect.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2006, 02:45 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
I don't have an HDV camcorder but I don't think it works on existing footage either, right Douglas?
Sorry Seth :-)
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2006, 12:16 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Kujbida
I don't have an HDV camcorder but I don't think it works on existing footage either, right Douglas?
Sorry Seth :-)
Au contraire! Yes, I am jumping for joy!!!

After server issues yesterday that prevented successful download of 7.0a trial, life is beautiful this morning!

Smooth download & install (upgrade to dotnet 2.0), and YES!!! Clips from camera tapes shot last December on a Z1 with time-of-day timecode and captured 9 months ago via firewire from the sony HVR-M10U hdv deck ------ suddenly sprouted camera timecode!!!

The combination of this and the better native M2T playback improves the usability of Vegas on a long-form HDV project (with multiple cameras and double system sound) dramatically, at least the way I think about workflow.

Or, put another way, about 90% of the "why did thay do that, why haven't they fixed that, this project is going to take forever" pain is gone. Thanks Sony, I feel so much better now :)

For those cutting native HDV on the timeline on slower machines with v7, check out ram render performance - I think I could cut on a laptop with some use of ram render, it does very well for full frame rate playback on high-motion stuff.

Tests on JVC HD100 to come...

For me, these workflow improvments for HDV make the upgrade well worth the price.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network