The MSSQL$Sony_MEDIAMGR service does not exist at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 23rd, 2006, 10:32 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
The MSSQL$Sony_MEDIAMGR service does not exist

Hi,

I am trying to make the switch from P-Pro to Vegas. Right off the bat I'm having a few problems. After I installed the trial version of 7.0a I get the following message when I execute the program.

"The MSSQL$Sony_MEDIAMGR service does not exist......"

I did a search on this forum and found some information. I have not been able to solve the problem. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks..
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 01:05 PM   #2
Rextilleon
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 520
You need Microsoft Netframework 2.0 to make it work. You can download it here: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en


Good luck, I swithced from Premiere and never looked back.
__________________
Red #97
David Mintzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 02:30 PM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
It installs as a separate step (automatically) after Vegas gets installed. You should have received notification of that additional step. If you did, look in the control panel. There should be a couple of entries there related to the media manager. If those are there, see if you can manually start the service. Beyond that, check with tech support.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 05:28 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
Thanks for the help. I followed the direstions. + Also uninstalled everything and re-installed. I'm having the same problem.

"The MSSQL$SONY_MEDIAMGR service does not exist or the current account does not have enough privilege to manage it."

Any other ideas...

This is just not fun!
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 08:35 PM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Did you install Vegas as an Administrator?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 08:39 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
Edward-

Not sure??? Should I have? I look into it and re-post.

Thanks...

Tim
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 08:42 PM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Yes. You need to be an administrator to install the media manager services. Also be aware that you CAN run Vegas without the media manager as well (and it can be turned off in the preferences).
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 08:44 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
Edward-

Thank you for the very fast responses.

Yes... I am the admin + only user. Therefore the software was installed by the admin.

What does the media manager do? How do I turn it off?

Thanks again. I appreciate it!

Tim
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 08:59 PM   #9
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If you want to turn it off, just go to Options - Preferences and low on the list is "Enable Media Manager".

The Media Manager is designed to "manage your media". If you have several buy-out libraries or footage you've taped yourself to be reused, it is frequently difficult to find the exact piece you need. With the media manager, you can add keys to help you quickly find the piece you need.

I consider the Media Manager very useful when you have lots of reusable clips. I consider the Project Media useful for organizing the clips in a specific project. However, many like to use the Media Manager even for that. Do a search on "Media Manager" in this forum and you'll see other reports of installation errors plus other reports on how others have used it.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 09:05 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
Once again Edward. Thanks... I appreciate it. I've been using Premiere for 3 years. It's going to be a rough transition to Vegas.

Thanks...

Tim
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 09:09 PM   #11
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Tim, to help get you started, you might want to read through my newsletters - especially the "Beginner's Corner" series beginning in the 4th issue. Just go to the newsletter archive section.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 09:11 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
Edward,

Thank you. I will do that now. Again you have been a big help.

Tim
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 03:48 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hamden CT
Posts: 470
I have the same exact error after I installed. I think it happened after I updated. I am clueless as how to fix this.
Richard Zlamany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 11:17 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hamden CT
Posts: 470
This is what most likely cause my problem. I found this on the Sony site.

0. Does your PC run any type of registry cleaner or maintenance tool such as PC Tools Registry Mechanic?

We have observed that some of these tools delete critical Sony registry keys which causes ACID or Vegas to be unable to initialize the media manager. Sony recommends that these tools not be used.
Richard Zlamany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2009, 12:21 PM   #15
Tourist
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Snina Slovakia
Posts: 4
Help

Hi,I installed Sony Vegas 7.0 on windows vista home premium 64-bit and after installation when I run the program system displays a dialog:
The MSSQL$SONY_MEDIAMGR service does not exist or the current account does not have enough privilege to manage it. I click OK and Sony Vegas start runnig,but when I drag a video in a timeline that displays only sound and video not...Can anybody help me?
Eduard Luksa is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network