I have QuickTime Pro 7, but the H.264 codec does not show up as an option in Vegas7. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 2nd, 2007, 10:45 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Va Beach, Va
Posts: 241
I have QuickTime Pro 7, but the H.264 codec does not show up as an option in Vegas7.

Am I missing something?

I bought QuickTime Pro last year because I was under the impression it would allow me access to the H.264 codec for rendering .mov files in Vegas 6 & 7.

I see H261 and H263 as options, but H264 eludes me. Am I wrong in assuming it should be there?

I would love to encode some of my Movies in QT-h264 format if possible. Mike Ferreira's .mov files looks so good that I would really love to learn how to have QT-h264 as an option too.
Brad Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2007, 09:12 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 11
Yah, I have the same problem. Let us know if you find anything on it.
Charles Kiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2007, 11:19 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Addison, Texas
Posts: 178
Read the following forum thread about some of this over at the Sony Forum.

http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/...323&Replies=27

Like yourself, that codec just doesn't seem to be available to us in Vegas 6/7, so that's why I'll still use QuickTime Pro to render to that format. But yes, I sure wish we did have access to it in Vegas.
Nathan Shane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 10:05 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 634
Can somebody explain to me that once I have my timeline built in Vegas, how do I use an "external" program to render my final project? I would think in order to do this I would have to render (compress) my vegas project just so I can re-render the project again. That doesnt' seem like a very good workflow.

Jon
Jon McGuffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 12:17 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon McGuffin View Post
Can somebody explain to me that once I have my timeline built in Vegas, how do I use an "external" program to render my final project? I would think in order to do this I would have to render (compress) my vegas project just so I can re-render the project again. That doesnt' seem like a very good workflow.

Jon
Export your sequence in an uncompressed format, then use that with the external encoding program.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 02:00 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 348
When I try to export via Quicktime Pro, on either my Mac or PC, I get a little "tick" on the video. I tried different keyframe exporting numbers, but nothing helped. This is what I mean (second 23 onwards):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=esd1-R8_Mnc&v3
Anyone?
Eugenia Loli-Queru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 03:26 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 634
Greg,

Do you have a suggestion as to what "type" of uncompressed format I use? I edit solely in 1080i HDV.
Jon McGuffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 10:36 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 267
Jon,

Someone may have to correct me if i'm not exactly correct in saying this. But i thought that you'd render out as the same format your time line is. In your case HDV. That way its only re-encoding the transitions and the like, and only 'copying' the untouched parts. This is how i did things with DV. But i'm not sure given MPEG2's nature if it acts the same. But think it would. THen you just grab that file and use your external encoder (i actually do this method myself as Vegas seems to never give proper results of quality and be a tedious process thats not all that intuitive).
__________________
Welcome... to the real world!
Daymon Hoffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2007, 11:12 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 634
What external encoder do you use for best results?
Jon McGuffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2007, 08:04 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Va Beach, Va
Posts: 241
I'm lost.

I bought QT Pro 7...

does it just offer player support for Windows or can I actually render .mov files with it in Windows XP?

How do I access the QT Pro for capturing/rendering videos? The only thing I see is QT Player.

***EDIT***

Nevermind, I figured it out. Uncompress .mov render from vegas, Open QT render then export as h.264 .mov.

Time consuming, but at least I finally figured it out.

Last edited by Brad Vaughan; June 24th, 2007 at 12:29 PM.
Brad Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2007, 07:18 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
You can also use JPEG 2000 @ 50%, it yielded really good results for me.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2007, 08:56 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66
I have found that exporting from the quicktime player itself offers the best conversion, far better than from within Vegas. See Image url below for screenshots.


http://nationaleventphotography.com/avitomov.jpg
Martin Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2007, 09:04 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Smith View Post
I have found that exporting from the quicktime player itself offers the best conversion, far better than from within Vegas. See Image url below for screenshots.


http://nationaleventphotography.com/avitomov.jpg
This doens't make any sense to me at all. If I edit my video in Vegas, how do I bypass and export from Quicktime rather than from within Vegas? I have to render my creation in the NLE as something so the quicktime application can open it right? Can Quicktime Pro actually open up Vegas Project files?
Jon McGuffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2007, 09:54 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66
From Vegas render it out as DV or DV widescreen whatever format you want
I have always selected from the template type shown in attached url

Then after the render is complete simply open the rendered avi from quicktime player and proceed as shown in the post outlining conversion above...
http://nationaleventphotography.com/avitomov2.jpg

I have noticed that from within Vegas there is only the option when rendering to Quicktime that the choice is Quicktime 6 not the newer Quicktime 7

One other benefit is that when rendering from Vegas and choosing any of the DV export options the render is virtualy real time so the render process is very fast, the speed of course can be slowed down when applying any filters etc, and from my observations there is no loss of quality when exporting to the DV format. From what I can see the quality is the same as exporting as avi uncompressed without the huge file size and to top things off if your video is interlaced you can de interlace from within quicktime. ;)

Last edited by Martin Smith; June 25th, 2007 at 10:04 AM. Reason: additional comment
Martin Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2007, 12:04 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 634
Wow, thanks Martin for posting that. It is helpfull. The only problem of course is that I'm working with 1080i HDV files, not DV, but I may be able to export from one of the other templates and accomplish the same thing.

Jon
Jon McGuffin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network