External Preview on Vegas for HD !! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 9th, 2007, 10:43 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 338
External Preview on Vegas for HD !!

What do you use to preview HD on Vegas7 ? I tried to buy Blackmagic Design card or AJA card and they told me that they don't support Vegas anymore.
And that's very disappointing. I have a big HD project and I need to preview it on external lcd monitor, Is there any other alternative just for External previewing HD on Vegas7.
Michael Ojjeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 10:47 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ny, ny
Posts: 201
You can use your camcorder as a pass through via the firewire.
Ron Chau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 10:58 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 338
Thanks Ron, That's not a bad idea , but I am looking for a long term solution.
Michael Ojjeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 11:22 AM   #4
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Ojjeh
What do you use to preview HD on Vegas7 ? I tried to buy Blackmagic Design card or AJA card and they told me that they don't support Vegas anymore.
And that's very disappointing. I have a big HD project and I need to preview it on external lcd monitor, Is there any other alternative just for External previewing HD on Vegas7.
Don't know where you got that info, but the AJA Xena is supported in Vegas as well as the BMD HD/SDI cards. I have both. BMD keeps changing out their drivers, so Vegas isn't always up to date, but both are supported and marketed as such.
Needless to say, neither product would be used for an LCD monitor anyway.
Use the second head on your video card for DVI output to an LCD monitor.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 12:27 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 338
Thanks Douglas, I got the info from BMD dealer and they called BMD support to confirm that they don't support Vegas any more they even told me I will be better off switching to Premiere beacuse Vegas users only represent 1-3 % of the market and it is not worth thier investment.
I do use two monitors for editing on Vegas and I need the External monitor to preview HD. Why Will I not be able to view it on HD TV ?
Michael Ojjeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 12:43 PM   #6
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Ojjeh
they even told me I will be better off switching to Premiere beacuse Vegas users only represent 1-3 % of the market and it is not worth thier investment.
That argument didn't exactly stop Apple.
David Jimerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 12:45 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
I don't think HDV will actually pass through by fire wire, except in final export to tape, which would be monitorable.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 12:54 PM   #8
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Ojjeh
Thanks Douglas, I got the info from BMD dealer and they called BMD support to confirm that they don't support Vegas any more they even told me I will be better off switching to Premiere beacuse Vegas users only represent 1-3 % of the market and it is not worth thier investment.
I do use two monitors for editing on Vegas and I need the External monitor to preview HD. Why Will I not be able to view it on HD TV ?
1. I do have external preview for HD. Both SDI and component to HD display.
2. Simon from BMD has different info, unless it's changed in the past 30 days. Either way, doesn't matter. AJA does a much better job with Vegas, their drivers don't change every week, and it's rock solid. I've quite using BMD in all but one system simply because I gave up always trying to be updated and finding out that the new drivers broke my system.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 01:08 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Ojjeh
Thanks Douglas, I got the info from BMD dealer and they called BMD support to confirm that they don't support Vegas any more they even told me I will be better off switching to Premiere beacuse Vegas users only represent 1-3 % of the market and it is not worth thier investment.

I'd be curious about the source of that statistic.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 01:25 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ny, ny
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos
I don't think HDV will actually pass through by fire wire.....
Has anyone tried this ?

I was thinking of getting a 26" HDTV to serve as my external monitor for color correction via firewire. I can't afford a real calibrated monitor, so the idea of an HDTV came up. Should I connect via the firewire or my video card ?

Last edited by Ron Chau; January 9th, 2007 at 02:26 PM.
Ron Chau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 02:23 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Chau
Has anyone tried this ?

I was thinking of getting a 26" HDTV to serve as my external monitor for color correction via firewire. I can't afford a real calibrated monitor, so the idea of an HDTV came up.
I just tried it with my H1 through fire wire and from the camera to component HD display and did not work !! and that is a bummer !! I was hoping that will work.
Michael Ojjeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 03:42 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 8
If you have an HDTV with an HDMI input couldnt you connect that to the second input on your graphics card via a DVI to HDMI cable/adapter?
Brian Engleheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 03:49 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ny, ny
Posts: 201
My video card has a dual output. I think I gonna drag my pc, monitor, keyboard and mouse into my living room. My HDTV is a few years old and has a DVI input............
Ron Chau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 09:08 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ny, ny
Posts: 201
OK, HDTV connected to the 2nd output on my video card works.

Which is better for HD color correction previewing via the video card, a LCD computer monitor or LCD HDTV ? Finished product will be viewed on an HDTV.
Ron Chau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 09:20 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Chau
OK, HDTV connected to the 2nd output on my video card works.

Which is better for HD color correction previewing via the video card, a LCD computer monitor or LCD HDTV ? Finished product will be viewed on an HDTV.
So you use one monitor for editing and the 2nd is your HDTV. and on Vegas Preview device you have Windows secondary display selected ! So if you edit with two monitors you will lose the 2nd one for the HDTV display.
Michael Ojjeh is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network