Purchased Quicktime H.264 but not showing up at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 29th, 2007, 02:27 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 101
Purchased Quicktime H.264 but not showing up

I was hoping after purchasing then installing quicktime pro 7 the codec would show up in the Render as > Quicktime 7 (*.mov) > Dialog boxes but it hasn't. I have to render out a .avi or some other huge file before opening it in the quicktime player and there, I can export and choose various settings. Is there some way I can get the codec/render options to show up in the Vegas 7 "Render as" dialog boxes? (drag some file to the plugins folder?)
Carl Downs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2007, 03:38 PM   #2
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
Even if it came up, last time I tried, Apple has the codec bolluxed up so that you can't render an H.264 .mov from Vegas.

You can, however, render a Sony AVC with H.264.

And remember -- WM9 is already a variation of H.264.
David Jimerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2007, 08:19 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Downs
I was hoping after purchasing then installing quicktime pro 7 the codec would show up in the Render as > Quicktime 7 (*.mov) > Dialog boxes but it hasn't. I have to render out a .avi or some other huge file before opening it in the quicktime player and there, I can export and choose various settings. Is there some way I can get the codec/render options to show up in the Vegas 7 "Render as" dialog boxes? (drag some file to the plugins folder?)
I got a pretty decent result by first rendering an uncompressed AVI file from Vegas, then loading the AVI file with Quicktime Pro. From Quicktime Pro, I did File -> Export and set the export options the way I wanted 'em for H.264.

The result looked good -- it was just an extra step in the workflow.

Cheers,

shall
Stephen Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2007, 12:39 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 101
so... it's true

the H.264 won't show up... that's so lame... why O why... Yes Stephen, that is what I have been doing. However I render out an uncompressed .mov, just so it's super compatible with quicktime... the only problem being... it's one more huge file and a time consuming extra step and not strait from the timeline so a small quality hit I imagine. I have tried rendering out a Connect HD .avi but when loaded into quicktime, no video. I get sound, but no video... does anybody know how to fix this? As for the H.264... oh... well... and thanks for the replies.
Carl Downs is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network