Problem with vegas capturing video from DVX - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 13th, 2003, 08:03 AM   #31
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
SOFTWARE codecs do not re-render the original DV info. It's a straight across COPY. HARDWARE codecs DO decompress / recompress. Also, hardware codecs tend to be proprietary, particularly the Avid codec. This was the single biggest reason I never invested in Avid, Who needs it.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2003, 08:27 AM   #32
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
From the Avid site:

"Seperate Avid Dv Codec for creating Avid compatible media in After Effects and other popular applications. The Avid DC codec also provides higher quality DV playback and is freely distributable so that media may be used on a seperate workstation that does not have an Avid Xpress DV installed".

One of the reasons I went with Avid in the first place.
Richard Alvarez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2003, 08:46 AM   #33
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Miguel, when you play back the tapes to a monitor you are using the codecs. If you see a difference, it is because of the different codecs (Vegas, Avid, ULead). Do you know what codecs are presently installed on your computer?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2003, 10:08 AM   #34
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 187
So you mean there are differences in the codecs??????

Didnīt you say that they were all the same quality???
Miguel Lopez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2003, 11:56 AM   #35
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
let it go miguel
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2003, 09:44 PM   #36
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 80
I have also some problems with the red color on a pal XM2 Canon (GL2)

I have a trick for that, I'm shooting in 16/9 mode for criticals projects. Try it !
Marc Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2003, 02:10 AM   #37
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 187
WHat is the advantage of shooting in 16:9. With my old XL1 i had the same problems with the saturated reds.

By the way, how good is the camera? any difference with the GL1?
Miguel Lopez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2003, 09:43 AM   #38
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 80
The advantage of shooting in 16/9 is there is less bleed and less block in the red. (I don't know for others cams, but for the XM2, it works)

I haven't compare the XM2 to the XM1 (GL1), but what I know, is the XM2 is capable to make great images.
Marc Martin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network