Vegas 4 BIG troubles at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 15th, 2003, 08:39 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brunn am Gebirge, Austria
Posts: 161
Troubles: print to tape and external preview in Vegas 4

Hi guys... 2 long nights and plenty of coffee and still no solution in sight... hope some of you can help me.

Problem Description:

When printing to tape or sending the preview to an external monitor via the 1394 the video is always interrupted (I get a blue screen on the camcorder display)

What I did until now:

The footage I tried was captured with vegas (I tried some older stuff that was captured with premiere and a pinnacle dv300 - with the same results as above)

My system: Win2000pro, 512mb RAM, directx 9.0a, 1394 OHCI (TI chipset), Camcorder Canon XL-1 (PAL, I tried interlaced and progressive footage)

1.
Uninstalled the pinnacle dv300 and cleaned the registry of all remains of the pinnacle dv300

2.
updated my BIOS

3.
checked and reinstalled driver for the 1394 card (TI chipset) and the Microsoft DV driver

4.
checked the IRQ settings, all these are on the same IRQ:

IRQ 11 SAPPHIRE RADEON 9000 ATLANTIS PRO
IRQ 11 VIA AC'97 Audio Controller (WDM)
IRQ 11 SiI PCI-0680 ATA/133 Controller
IRQ 11 Texas Instruments OHCI-konformer IEEE-1394-Hostcontroller
IRQ 11 Realtek RTL8029(AS)-basierter PCI Ethernetadapter

Could there be any conflicts?

Here is all of them: Which ones can I change, I am really no expert in these things..? Sorry for the german words, but I guess they are selfexplanatory ;-)

9 Microsoft ACPI-konformes System
11 SAPPHIRE RADEON 9000 ATLANTIS PRO
11 VIA AC'97 Audio Controller (WDM)
11 SiI PCI-0680 ATA/133 Controller
11 Texas Instruments OHCI-konformer IEEE-1394 Hostcontroller
11 Realtek RTL8029(AS)-basierter PCI Ethernetadapter
14 Primärer IDE-Kanal
15 Sekundärer IDE-Kanal
8 System CMOS/Echtzeituhr
13 Numerischer Coprozessor
6 Standard-Diskettenlaufwerkcontroller
4 Kommunikationsanschluss (COM1)
3 Kommunikationsanschluss (COM2)
12 Windows PS/2 Port mouse
1 Standardtastatur (101/102 Tasten) oder Microsoft Natural Keyboard (PS/2)

5. I read the Vegas manual, checked this forum, the faq, the articles on this site and did everything that was recommended, but it still does not work.

I really hope you can help me... I purchased Vegas only 2 days ago, because I was so happy with the demo... and now I cannot even get my footage out of the computer.

Cheers, Peter
__________________
Peter Koller
Vienna, Austria http://www.kop11.com
Peter Koller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2003, 09:18 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Peter,

I agree about the software, I made the switch not long ago also and it is excellent. I almost like to edit now! Notice I said ALMOST...
Good Luck to you, I hope you are able to solve your challenge,
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2003, 10:24 AM   #3
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
First thing I'd try is disabling as many of those other apps you've got running on IRQ11. The ethernet adapter stands out as a real likely culprit.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2003, 12:12 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 219
What version of Premiere do you have? If you have 6.0 or above, try capturing and printing somethig with Premiere to see if you have problems with that too. I dont think this is a Vegas specific problem.
Rob Easler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2003, 12:45 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
YES! I forgot, I do it so routinely now! Virus Scan and internet OFF!!!! They were a source of trouble for me and then I remembered I left them both on, turneded them off and BINGO!!!!
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2003, 12:53 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brunn am Gebirge, Austria
Posts: 161
@Rob In Premiere everything worked fine

I am going to change these IRQs, if this does not solve the problem I will stick my tongue in the power plug and fry myself :-)))


Cheers, Peter
__________________
Peter Koller
Vienna, Austria http://www.kop11.com
Peter Koller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2003, 07:16 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 484
You have major problems with all of those devices sharing the same IRQ. Your problem lies with your FireWire controller sharing the Hard Drive controller (ATA133). Both sharing the same IRQ is just asking for trouble because your FireWire is feeding the hard disk information in real time, and the hard disk can't keep up. especially if it's also sharing the same Video card IRQ and Ethernet IRQ (if it's being used).

Unfortunatly, to allow for total IRQ setting control, you need to tinker with the BIOs a bit, and re-install Windows 2000 because by default Win2K installs ACPI drivers/configurations which are heavily embedded within the O/S.
__________________
Andrew | Canon XL1s, ME66, Vinten Vision 3, GlideCam V16 (for sale!)
Andrew Petrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2003, 07:26 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
Peter,

I'd be taking a look at the IRQ for the firewire card. Texas Inst chios are notorious for not playing well with others on the same IRQ (especially the Pinnacle DV series). I had all kinds of different problems until I installed the firewire card with its own IRQ.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2003, 10:04 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brunn am Gebirge, Austria
Posts: 161
So, I managed to give the 1394 a single IRQ by removing the ethernet card and the IDE controller... no improvement.

I flashed my BIOS to the newest version and installed a new VIA chipset driver.. nothing.

Funny thing is there is a guy on a german forum who runs Vegas with lots of background action (virus protection, outlook...) shared IRQs and plenty of cards in the PCS slots and he has NO PROBLEMS! Well, with Premiere and the dv300 it was more or like it, when it got stuck I at least knew why.

What is left to do?

Try another firewire card?

Another mainboard?

@Adrian
What do you mean by a firewire card with its "own IRQ" I thought IRQs are assigned by the system?
__________________
Peter Koller
Vienna, Austria http://www.kop11.com
Peter Koller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2003, 10:09 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brunn am Gebirge, Austria
Posts: 161
Anyone out there using this combination:

MSI K7T Turbo (MS-6330) Mainboard with the VIA chipset

and VEGAS 4 an Win2k?

If you happen to use this setup, does it work? Or did you make any changes to the BIOS to make it work?

Cheers, Peter
__________________
Peter Koller
Vienna, Austria http://www.kop11.com
Peter Koller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2003, 01:57 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 155
i cant preview on external monitor using veg4 on a via chipset mobo either. and it worked before i did a fresh reinstall on another drive! i just did a two hour project in 4 days and had the machine lockup several times as well....fortunately i struggled thru the job, got it rendered and then xfred to my laptop and was able to print to vid (and preview external fine). oddly enough it seems most my issues occured after switching from wired NIC to wireless (part of the reason for reinstall). ive gone into BIOS, but unfortunately all i can change is reserving pcipnp IRQs to isa/legacy. all my devices were on irq3, reserved it and then they all went to 12, then magically the split into various IRQs with some on 10, 11, and 4....so strange. im on XP PRO, not that much difference from W2k....if you find any solutions let me know! likewise if i figure anything out ill drop you a line...so far im relying more on my laptop, which unfortunatley only has a 40 GB...desktop has 200GB....blahhh
__________________
Trey Perrone

Trey Perrone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2003, 08:34 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
I know this won't help. But...
VIA chipsets are notorious for their throughput problems. Thats why I will never buy another mobo with a VIA chipset (especially the southbridge, bad bad problems with PCI throughput).

I'm assuming have a VIA 266 or 266A? or earlier?

I have a VIA 266A southbridge with the 4 in 1 drivers and I still have some playback problems, though I don't lose any actual footage.

This has affected other programs on my system as well.
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2003, 11:05 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 200
Sorry I don't have an answer, but I too have had several issues with Vegas Printing to Tape. Seems I have problmes with any video NOT captured with Vegas, but I tried several different 1394 cards, with no luck. For things that don;t print to tape well I used Pinnacle Studio as it exports to tape very nicely, It is about the only thing I trust Studio for as the progrma itself is buggy as hell.
Keith Luken is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network