How To Reduce Strobes In Progressive? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 15th, 2007, 08:34 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sofia Bulgaria
Posts: 147
How To Reduce Strobes In Progressive?

Hi everyone,
I just captured from my miniDV cam (PAL 25 Interlaced), and after rendering out to DV AVI PAL Progressive, very obvious strobes are visible in the motion scenes, even if the motion is slow. So, what settings are needed so that to reduce this terrible strobed look to minimum? Any advises?

P.S.: If anybody wants, I can upload a short clip before-and-after.
Plamen Petrov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2007, 09:10 AM   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
50i at what shutter speed? Shooting is as much a part of the quotient as anything.
What are you previewing the footage with? PAL CRT monitor? Or computer screen? If you show progressive footage on a PAL CRT monitor or on most LCD television displays, it's reconverted to interlaced and you'll also potentially see the strobing.

More input, please? :-)
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2007, 09:29 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sofia Bulgaria
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Spotted Eagle View Post
50i at what shutter speed? Shooting is as much a part of the quotient as anything.
What are you previewing the footage with? PAL CRT monitor? Or computer screen? If you show progressive footage on a PAL CRT monitor or on most LCD television displays, it's reconverted to interlaced and you'll also potentially see the strobing.

More input, please? :-)
Shutter speed 1/50, previewing on computer monitor crt. I dont know if the moitor is the reason, but when I watch a movie on it (dvd, divx, etc.), I see no any strobes. Of course, its a question of cameras, but anyway I think my problem must have a way to be solved somehow.
Plamen Petrov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2007, 09:59 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
chekc your exposure..
most of the time flicker and strobe occurs becuase your levels are exceeding safe levels..

go to view and open up your scopes.. set it up to run RGBand luminance parade and check out the levels through that.. if you notice and excessive peak on teh right hand side, youve blown ur highlgihts and they nee to come down

quick and dirty way is to run "broadcast safe" filter...
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2007, 11:42 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sofia Bulgaria
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Jefferson View Post
chekc your exposure..
most of the time flicker and strobe occurs becuase your levels are exceeding safe levels..

go to view and open up your scopes.. set it up to run RGBand luminance parade and check out the levels through that.. if you notice and excessive peak on teh right hand side, youve blown ur highlgihts and they nee to come down

quick and dirty way is to run "broadcast safe" filter...
Hey, Peter, no, its not that. Maybe I was not clear. I mean that the strobes (or stutters) are so visible in progressive. Its not bcoz of exposure, Im sure that. Hmm, maybe I have to upload a clip very soon.
Plamen Petrov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 07:41 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sofia Bulgaria
Posts: 147
When I watch some movie, I see that the strobing/stuttering lines are VERY smooth and fine (small), with very high frequency, while the same effect on my footages is with coarse and low frequency strobed lines.
Ok, look: I have a choice on my miniDV cam - to choose 1/50, 1/120, "sports", or just without any of previous options (raw, i think). So, I use 1/50, but is it the best I need for 25fps?
Also, after many variations of render and project settings I discovered that it is much better for my interlaced captured footage when I do this:
1.Changing the field order on the footage properties to progressive.
2.Project properties: progressive, deinterlaced method: none.
3 Rendering out to progressive.

Another question: on the footage properties -> media I see an option "use custom timecode". What does this do and why should I need it eventually? What is the reason to change the timecode?
Plamen Petrov is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network