DVD-A questions at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 5th, 2007, 12:45 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Garden Grove CA
Posts: 239
DVD-A questions

I tried this program once and didn't like it but now I my normal DVD authuring program I use is limiting me. My program I have been using won't burn DL dvd's and I can only go upto a 3.25gb file.

Can DVD-A Burn duel layer dvd's ?

Do you have to render the video track and audio track into two files ?
I normally render my videos to a DVD mpg2 but when I try to use DVD-A it wants to rerender my movies. Can I make DVD-A not rerender my movies ?

Any help would be great.

Joey
__________________
My videos
http://www.youtube.com/user/lucasberg
Joey Atilano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2007, 01:17 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey Atilano
Can DVD-A Burn dual layer dvd's ?
Yes


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey Atilano
Do you have to render the video track and audio track into two files?
No. However, it is generally recommended that you do so.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey Atilano
I normally render my videos to a DVD mpg2 but when I try to use DVD-A it wants to rerender my movies. Can I make DVD-A not rerender my movies?
Yes. But you must make sure that everything was set correctly when the original file was made - i.e. proper bitrate to fit the disc, etc...

Are you sure it was re-rendering the video? Or was it actually just re-rendering the AUDIO? When you rendered the audio to the MPEG2 file, you actually compressed the audio. Then DVD Architect had to UNCOMPRESS the audio and then RECOMPRESS the audio into AC-3. That's why you should just render the audio straight to AC3 in Vegas instead - you'll bypass all those extra conversions/loss of quality.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2007, 01:30 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Garden Grove CA
Posts: 239
Thanks Edward, That was very helpful.

It was rerendering my audio.

Is there a way/setting that I can render my videos to one file but not have to have DVD-a rerender my audio?
__________________
My videos
http://www.youtube.com/user/lucasberg
Joey Atilano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2007, 02:36 PM   #4
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
No. To prevent the audio from being re-rendered, you need to render it straight to AC3 in Vegas.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network