Viewing on external monitor at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 10th, 2007, 09:05 AM   #1
New Boot
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 11
Viewing on external monitor

I feel kind of lame asking this question, but I need an answer, so here it is:

I have an HP laptop with an S-Video out. I am running Windows XP. I have Vegas 7 (and am a brand new user). I want to preview my timeline on an external monitor. I've found the button which allows me to do this. When I plug in my external monitor via S-Video, as usual it mimics what is on my laptop. But, I could not get Vegas to preview anything on the monitor. So then I began messing around by 'Extending my Windows desktop on to this monitor'. Once I did that the preview would open and fill the screen...of my laptop. I could not figure out how to get it to fill the screen of the external monitor.

Any suggestions?
Eric T. Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 09:11 AM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,858
Preview via firewire through a convertor instead. Vegas *can* use a secondary monitor but using firewire will be better than trying to get the S-Video to work.
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 10:47 AM   #3
Inner Circle
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,864
For whatever reason you can't get Edwards suggestion to work; which would be optimal considering what I'm about to suggest, you could set your desktop to stretch to your secondary monitor, in destop setup, then detach the video monitor from vegas and drag it to the screen that is stretched, probably the far right side of your desktop. I did this the otherday, it was not a pretty display.

But get firewire through a converter to work, it's a much better option.
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 10:50 AM   #4
Inner Circle
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,138
Also try using a computer monitor, if you have one available. Plug it into the VGA port of your laptop.

Set up as "extend my desktop onto this display" in windows, not "clone".

Select "use windows secondary display" in the preview preferences in Vegas.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 07:55 PM   #5
Major Player
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 260
Furthermore, if you use Magic bullet or some plugin that requires the GPU of your video card, forget firewire, you will need to use the windows secondary display option. If you said you want the timeline on the external monitor, change your video card option to show your external as the PRIMARY monitor and that will do it. Hope this helps. J
John L. Miller is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:08 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network