Adjusting Firewire Settings? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 26th, 2007, 09:39 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sayre
Posts: 30
Adjusting Firewire Settings?

Hey guys I have no clue if this is possible. Is there anyway to change your firewire settings to capture a larger frame. Right now its capturing at 720x480. I use Sony Vegas 6.

It could just be the way that I am rendering my files. Is AVI the best format?
Joel Bradley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2007, 09:54 PM   #2
Jubal 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 872
No. Vegas simply captures what's on the tape. And some contend that you shouldn't even call it a "capture," because it's a simple transfer of 1s and 0s from the tape, as is, just as you would transfer a Word file from floppy to the hard drive.

As for how you render, it depends on what you want to do with it.
David Jimerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2007, 06:37 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fredericksburg, Va
Posts: 220
I'm guessing the media was not originally shot in 720x480?
Where are you seeing the problem? Is it in the media pool or on the time line?

Are your project settings set to match those of the imported media?
Reid Bailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2007, 03:51 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sayre
Posts: 30
Hmm, Maybe its just my camera then. But I just find that it doesnt look as clear as it should be as if I plug it into my TV. It worked fine for me months ago, but now it just seems like it loses quality. Or it just could be me haha.

My camera is just a sony handcam digital 8 trv260. I plan on working up to a panasonic dvx100b soon.
Joel Bradley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2007, 04:58 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
It may be that the preview is at lower quality. Try preview FULL or best FULL, and make sure Vegas isn't scaling the preview. Right click the video preview window and de-select the fit/scaling option (sorry, I forget what it's called).
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2007, 09:42 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sayre
Posts: 30
For the question with what I want to do with the files, I want to save it high quality for DVD. What are some good settings. I usually always shoot in 16:9
Joel Bradley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network